New Orleans Shrimp Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This meal is VERY tasty! I read a few reviews where people didn't use the Cream of Chicken and herb soup and replaced with regular cream of chicken....and I would highly recommend not doing that! It adds flavor. Furthermore, I first had this at a friends and have made it a few times since - it is certainly best over cornbread or biscuits to sort of sop up the sauce. If you want it over rice or pasta - try adding a little cornstarch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was great! I didn't expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised! I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Photo by Leila
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was yummy, easy and quick. The cream sauce is flavorful. I would give it 4 and 1/2 stars. I used Emeril's Bayou Blast seasoning instead of cajun seasoning and served it on top of baked Cheesy Polenta. I couldn't find the herbed soup, so I used regular cream of chicken. I would suggest not serving this on top of anything too salty. Cooking tips: make sure you throw your garlic in after the onions have been sauteeing for a bit, or it will burn. Also, five minutes was too long for my shrimp. Don't forget to take into account the fact that the shrimp will continue to cook after you pull the sauce off the heat. The color is a big funny (due to the soup) but a dash of paprika pretties up this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I thought this meal was great! I didn't have any of the fancy cream of chicken soup (nor did the grocery store) so I had to use the regular kind. At first I thought it was quite salty, but on top of the corn bread it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilaussiemum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was really good! I did find the Cream of Chicken with Herbs. (I thought that was pretty good by itself.) This is similar to a dish I prepare called "Barbequed Shrimp" but it uses a whole lot of butter. This seems a little healthier, and the taste is not that different. Plus, the Barbequed Shrimp dish leaves the shells on until it is on your plate. So, this is a lot less messier, too! I just served it with some french bread for dipping. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I'm giving this recipe five stars because it looks and sounds delicious, even though I have'nt prepared it yet. But the idea of corn bread or biscuits sounds strange to me. i'm thinking it'll be great served over pasta or rice. I'm going to try it first chance I get and I'll let you all know with a tried and true review of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ashford, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful and quick "go-to" meal for our family. We serve it with noodles and is wonderful. Very close to the Seafood Alfredo served at a local resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this for dinner last night and am so glad I did! This was one of the best recipes I have had in a long time! I did make a few substitutions though. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, regular cream of chicken soup instead of the one with herbs, omitted the chives and served over penne pasta instead of a biscuit or cornbread. I also cooked the sauce and shrimp for a lot longer than what the recipe called for on very, very low heat. Next time I think I will add scallops and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
so good!! my fiance and i loved it!! added extra cayenne pepper and chili pepper for the extra kick! but it was perfect! served it with cheesey rice! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
OMG. Absolutely wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing! Yummm-O from Mountain Mama who hasn't cooked many "shrimp" recipes but a lot of cornbread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States