New Orleans Shrimp Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Really good! I added some diced bell pepper and mushroom with the onion, and took the advice of another reviewer and added the garlic near the end so that it would not burn. I used Old Bay in place of cajun seasoning and regular cream of chicken soup because that is what I had on hand. I like my food spicy so I added some ground red pepper and Sriracha hot chili sauce for kick. I served this over lightly buttered white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leila
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was yummy, easy and quick. The cream sauce is flavorful. I would give it 4 and 1/2 stars. I used Emeril's Bayou Blast seasoning instead of cajun seasoning and served it on top of baked Cheesy Polenta. I couldn't find the herbed soup, so I used regular cream of chicken. I would suggest not serving this on top of anything too salty. Cooking tips: make sure you throw your garlic in after the onions have been sauteeing for a bit, or it will burn. Also, five minutes was too long for my shrimp. Don't forget to take into account the fact that the shrimp will continue to cook after you pull the sauce off the heat. The color is a big funny (due to the soup) but a dash of paprika pretties up this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
my husband LOVED this me not so much it was too soupy for my tastes but I will certainly make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Followed the recipe to the T. Not bad, but not great. I've eaten in many authentic cajun restaurants in new orleans so maybe I'm too big of a cajun snob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was great! I didn't expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised! I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was very tasty. I used the low fat plain cream of chicken and it tasted great! With the amount of sauce that it makes, you could easily double the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This meal is VERY tasty! I read a few reviews where people didn't use the Cream of Chicken and herb soup and replaced with regular cream of chicken....and I would highly recommend not doing that! It adds flavor. Furthermore, I first had this at a friends and have made it a few times since - it is certainly best over cornbread or biscuits to sort of sop up the sauce. If you want it over rice or pasta - try adding a little cornstarch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
so good!! my fiance and i loved it!! added extra cayenne pepper and chili pepper for the extra kick! but it was perfect! served it with cheesey rice! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I thought this meal was great! I didn't have any of the fancy cream of chicken soup (nor did the grocery store) so I had to use the regular kind. At first I thought it was quite salty, but on top of the corn bread it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilaussiemum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
OMG. Absolutely wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing! Yummm-O from Mountain Mama who hasn't cooked many "shrimp" recipes but a lot of cornbread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States