New Orleans Shrimp Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was great! I didn't expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised! I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Followed the recipe to the T. Not bad, but not great. I've eaten in many authentic cajun restaurants in new orleans so maybe I'm too big of a cajun snob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This meal is VERY tasty! I read a few reviews where people didn't use the Cream of Chicken and herb soup and replaced with regular cream of chicken....and I would highly recommend not doing that! It adds flavor. Furthermore, I first had this at a friends and have made it a few times since - it is certainly best over cornbread or biscuits to sort of sop up the sauce. If you want it over rice or pasta - try adding a little cornstarch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
OMG. Absolutely wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing! Yummm-O from Mountain Mama who hasn't cooked many "shrimp" recipes but a lot of cornbread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Really good! I added some diced bell pepper and mushroom with the onion, and took the advice of another reviewer and added the garlic near the end so that it would not burn. I used Old Bay in place of cajun seasoning and regular cream of chicken soup because that is what I had on hand. I like my food spicy so I added some ground red pepper and Sriracha hot chili sauce for kick. I served this over lightly buttered white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
so good!! my fiance and i loved it!! added extra cayenne pepper and chili pepper for the extra kick! but it was perfect! served it with cheesey rice! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this for dinner last night and am so glad I did! This was one of the best recipes I have had in a long time! I did make a few substitutions though. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, regular cream of chicken soup instead of the one with herbs, omitted the chives and served over penne pasta instead of a biscuit or cornbread. I also cooked the sauce and shrimp for a lot longer than what the recipe called for on very, very low heat. Next time I think I will add scallops and serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
my husband LOVED this me not so much it was too soupy for my tastes but I will certainly make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful and quick "go-to" meal for our family. We serve it with noodles and is wonderful. Very close to the Seafood Alfredo served at a local resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Good, quick, and easy! I used about 1-1/2 pound of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States