New Orleans Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I modified this recipe a bit to make it easier to make. I skipped the marinade and just boiled two packs of boneless chicken breasts and then peeled them off the bone into chunks. I saved the liquid as my chicken stock. I then put the bacon in a pot and once it was cooked I dumped in the onions, greenpepper and garlic and cooked about 5 minutes. I skipped adding the flour and just added the seasonings, tomatoes, chicken stock, chicken chunks and kielbasa. I also added seasoning salt to taste. I let it cook for 1.5 hours then added 3 cups of rice(I like my jambalaya on the wet side. After 30 minutes I cut the heat and added a pound of shrimp. When they turned pink it was ready. I served this to a party of 15 and everyone loved it. Some even took some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
The staff has increased the number of servings on this recipe to a more realistic portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Excellent! Easy to increase recipe. I served this at a church supper and everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. I cooked it as part of an Xmas dinner for 4, and it turned out great. I did skip marinating the portion- just boiled and seasoned. Worked just as well, and substituted ham for anduille sausage!!!!! Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This jambalaya is absolutely delicious. It's so good that I called my husband at work to get him excited for dinner. I can't wait to share this with a friend who is from N'Awlins! This recipe would be more kid-friendly if it weren't spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
CGAIL ... ONE ABOVE THE ABOVER REVIEWERS, SAID THAT THE RECIPE IS FOR 15 PEOPLE. ITS FOR 50.. I REPEAT 50 ( FIFTY ).. SEEMS THAT A PERSON WOULD CHECK THAT BEFORE MAKING COMMENTS !!! THIS RECIPE IS GREAT AND IT IS FOR 50 PEOPLE. -- OR SCALE IT DOWN TO YOUR FAMILY'S SIZE. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is the best jambalaya my husband and I have had ever! I scaled the recipe to 4 servings then tweaked the amounts slightly, but it turns out perfectly every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I love this recipe though I cook it somewhat differently. I reduce the amount of cayenne pepper by a third and double the amount of chicken stock then cook it over the stove for about twice the amount of time or however long it takes for the rice to cook and then skip plopping it into the oven. Note: this recipe makes A LOT. They're not kidding when they say it feeds 50 people. We usually cook a half batch and freeze the leftovers. They make perfect meals when you don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
excellent Will use this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I had to double this recipe for Mardi Gras event at my church. Everyone loved the Jambalaya and it was easy to make. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States