New Orleans Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Excellent!!! I wanted to try this out for a weeknight dinner, so I made it in my slowcooker. I scaled the recipe down to 16 and it worked good in my 4Q cooker. I prepared the chicken to marinade over night. Then using precooked bacon and sausage, threw all the ingredients except the rice, chicken and shrimp in the slowcooker on low for about 10 hours. When I got home from work, I added the shrimp and turned the heat up to high for about 45 minutes. While that was finishing, I cooked the rice on the stovetop and added for the last half hour and baked the chicken in the oven and tossed with the finished product. My whole family loved it, even my picky 3 year old ate some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
The staff has increased the number of servings on this recipe to a more realistic portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I modified this recipe a bit to make it easier to make. I skipped the marinade and just boiled two packs of boneless chicken breasts and then peeled them off the bone into chunks. I saved the liquid as my chicken stock. I then put the bacon in a pot and once it was cooked I dumped in the onions, greenpepper and garlic and cooked about 5 minutes. I skipped adding the flour and just added the seasonings, tomatoes, chicken stock, chicken chunks and kielbasa. I also added seasoning salt to taste. I let it cook for 1.5 hours then added 3 cups of rice(I like my jambalaya on the wet side. After 30 minutes I cut the heat and added a pound of shrimp. When they turned pink it was ready. I served this to a party of 15 and everyone loved it. Some even took some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This jambalaya is absolutely delicious. It's so good that I called my husband at work to get him excited for dinner. I can't wait to share this with a friend who is from N'Awlins! This recipe would be more kid-friendly if it weren't spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is very very very very good. I made this for Superbowl and it went so fast I had to "steal" some for myself for later. I made the recipe for 25 people, 20 people showed up and I realized I should have made the 50 people recipe. It was that good. I am still getting calls from guests raving about the jambalaya. This will be made at all my parties, get togethers, and just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I cooked this up for a super bowl party and it was the HIT of the buffet. We warned, you are going to have to end up cooking this dish is a very large pot! And not a steaming pot, but one with a thick bottom. It's worth the work and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I had never made this before and although the recipe takes time, it is worth every minute. I've since made it several times and it is always well received by guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I love this recipe though I cook it somewhat differently. I reduce the amount of cayenne pepper by a third and double the amount of chicken stock then cook it over the stove for about twice the amount of time or however long it takes for the rice to cook and then skip plopping it into the oven. Note: this recipe makes A LOT. They're not kidding when they say it feeds 50 people. We usually cook a half batch and freeze the leftovers. They make perfect meals when you don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was great. I served it for about 25 people at a family party, everyone loved it. I don't think it could feed 50 if not having much else on the menu. It is very time consuming though. Plan ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Just made this tonight, and it was really good. I resized the recipe to feed 5 and rounded upwards (generally). I used only 3 meats: bacon, hot bulk pork sausage, and the chicken with marinade. I used both white & brown rice (because when sized for 5, the recipe doesn't call for as much rice as I like). I left pretty much everything else the same, except I had to add about twice as much chicken broth to it as it said to, but I suspect that's because of resizing the recipe from 50 servings down to 5. All in all, really good, really tender veggies, but really time consuming even with only 3 meats to prepare. Served it with buttered French bread, Cherry Limeade I from this site, and Bananas Foster II from this site for dessert :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States