New Orleans Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
excellent Will use this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I modified this recipe a bit to make it easier to make. I skipped the marinade and just boiled two packs of boneless chicken breasts and then peeled them off the bone into chunks. I saved the liquid as my chicken stock. I then put the bacon in a pot and once it was cooked I dumped in the onions, greenpepper and garlic and cooked about 5 minutes. I skipped adding the flour and just added the seasonings, tomatoes, chicken stock, chicken chunks and kielbasa. I also added seasoning salt to taste. I let it cook for 1.5 hours then added 3 cups of rice(I like my jambalaya on the wet side. After 30 minutes I cut the heat and added a pound of shrimp. When they turned pink it was ready. I served this to a party of 15 and everyone loved it. Some even took some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This jambalaya is absolutely delicious. It's so good that I called my husband at work to get him excited for dinner. I can't wait to share this with a friend who is from N'Awlins! This recipe would be more kid-friendly if it weren't spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I cooked this up for a super bowl party and it was the HIT of the buffet. We warned, you are going to have to end up cooking this dish is a very large pot! And not a steaming pot, but one with a thick bottom. It's worth the work and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This recipe serves 15? It takes like 19 lbs of meat!! Do you know how long it takes to peel and devein even just 4 lbs of shrimp? The worst part of this recipe was the rice. I added the rice like it says and it never got soft, despite 25 minutes of boiling, cooling for 4 hours, baking for 2 hours and then reboiling for another 45 minutes, even with added chick stock. The jambalaya tasted like it had gravel in it. Secondly, it cost a fortune in meat products, but all of the pepper kills the taste. Thirdly, it took me all day to make and was still a disaster. The quantities of food are not the right proportion to the number of servings. Don't waste your time and money on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
The staff has increased the number of servings on this recipe to a more realistic portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is the best jambalaya my husband and I have had ever! I scaled the recipe to 4 servings then tweaked the amounts slightly, but it turns out perfectly every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
CGAIL ... ONE ABOVE THE ABOVER REVIEWERS, SAID THAT THE RECIPE IS FOR 15 PEOPLE. ITS FOR 50.. I REPEAT 50 ( FIFTY ).. SEEMS THAT A PERSON WOULD CHECK THAT BEFORE MAKING COMMENTS !!! THIS RECIPE IS GREAT AND IT IS FOR 50 PEOPLE. -- OR SCALE IT DOWN TO YOUR FAMILY'S SIZE. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I had to double this recipe for Mardi Gras event at my church. Everyone loved the Jambalaya and it was easy to make. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Excellent! Easy to increase recipe. I served this at a church supper and everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States