New Orleans Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Very moist and creamy. Instead of using the chicken stock, I exchanged it for coconut milk, I also subsituted the simmering, and pressured it instead. It still came out really good, and took less time.Two onions seemed too much, so I used one nice big one, and it was perfect for me. I also used brown rice instead of white rice, and it came out nice and fluffy. Caution, this recipie makes ALOT, even with the customized servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Easy to modify for any occasion- a family of two or a party- Gives you the basics for a true jambalaya! Some did comment it could be spicer but for me just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This recipe takes the cake for Jambalaya! If your friends go to put hot sauce on it before they try it, you should be insulted. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I recently used this recipe for a bridal shower and customized it to feed 20, substituted Anduille sausage for Chorizo (only because my grocer had no Chorizo) and it was FABULOUS! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I'm not allowed at our son's annual Super Bowl Party if I don't show up with this dish. I scale the recipe down to 25 servings and it still feeds 50 hungry superbowlers. As for those who think it is a lot of trouble to make this dish - they are right. But it's well worth it!!!! I do reduce the amount of cayenne pepper - I think its too HOT with the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. I cooked it as part of an Xmas dinner for 4, and it turned out great. I did skip marinating the portion- just boiled and seasoned. Worked just as well, and substituted ham for anduille sausage!!!!! Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I love this recipe though I cook it somewhat differently. I reduce the amount of cayenne pepper by a third and double the amount of chicken stock then cook it over the stove for about twice the amount of time or however long it takes for the rice to cook and then skip plopping it into the oven. Note: this recipe makes A LOT. They're not kidding when they say it feeds 50 people. We usually cook a half batch and freeze the leftovers. They make perfect meals when you don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Tried it out for potluck, and it went over well. This recipe is just enough to feed 15 cajuns (or 30 yankees) I know because I almost ran out! I'd have to say an average dish of Jambalaya isn't this complicated, but it es bon, none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Excellent! Easy to increase recipe. I served this at a church supper and everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I had to double this recipe for Mardi Gras event at my church. Everyone loved the Jambalaya and it was easy to make. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States