New Orleans Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was delicious! I wanted to make something special for a birthday, something I hadn't made before and something that others haven't eaten before. This fit the bill. I cut the recipe in half and it worked out just fine to fill a large crockpot to take to the party. The only thing that I would suggest is that you have extra chicken stock on hand, as I found that I did need to add some. It was a hit and I will save this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babbitt, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I've made this recipe 4-5 times for my fraternity of 60 guys and it always gets rave reviews. We add a little extra cayenne pepper and some cajun seasoning to spice it up a bit, and don't use any shrimp usually because we're on a tight budget. Nonetheless, it turns out amazing, the chicken marinade is top notch just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this for a church dinner. Everyone loved it!!! There were only 25 people there and they gobbled it all up....most going back for seconds and thirds. Great recipe!! i also added some kielbasa sausage. It is a lot of prep work for this meal, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I guess I'm in the minority on this one. I thought this was just ok, and for the amount of time it took, next time I want jambalaya, I'll order it when we go out. I would definitely make the rice separate and add it in later because mine was not completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
My first attempt at Jambalaya. My boyfriend RAVED about how good it was! He said "You can make this every week!" Took 1/2 to a potluck (he ate the other half) and they loved it too! I grilled the chicken, sausage and shrimp on my outdoor grill, then added it to the rice mixture... what a difference in flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is very very very very good. I made this for Superbowl and it went so fast I had to "steal" some for myself for later. I made the recipe for 25 people, 20 people showed up and I realized I should have made the 50 people recipe. It was that good. I am still getting calls from guests raving about the jambalaya. This will be made at all my parties, get togethers, and just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I had never made this before and although the recipe takes time, it is worth every minute. I've since made it several times and it is always well received by guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
awesome-i had to scale it down-i wasn't feeding an army
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was great. I served it for about 25 people at a family party, everyone loved it. I don't think it could feed 50 if not having much else on the menu. It is very time consuming though. Plan ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Excellent!!! I wanted to try this out for a weeknight dinner, so I made it in my slowcooker. I scaled the recipe down to 16 and it worked good in my 4Q cooker. I prepared the chicken to marinade over night. Then using precooked bacon and sausage, threw all the ingredients except the rice, chicken and shrimp in the slowcooker on low for about 10 hours. When I got home from work, I added the shrimp and turned the heat up to high for about 45 minutes. While that was finishing, I cooked the rice on the stovetop and added for the last half hour and baked the chicken in the oven and tossed with the finished product. My whole family loved it, even my picky 3 year old ate some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States