New Orleans Hurricane Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
It didn't taste good. Gave it a go. AVOID this recipe unless you like sweet, bland drinks. Rum at least should have been dark a Meyers or Tortuga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Great! Couldn't find passion fruit syrup here in NJ so used whatever fruit syrup I could find. Blackberry in this case. Big hit at our Mardi Gras party! I'll have to order the syrup online next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
A good drink, but not quite New Orleans. It sure is strong tho (I used a full shot of the 151 proof)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. Noting like what you get on Bourbon street. If you never gone to Pat O'Brien's you'll know this isn't close, no other place but New Orleans service up the real deal. All you need for the PERFECT Hurricane is Fruit punch and Meyer's rum, some orange slices and a couple cherries and that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDIKUNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I had never made a cocktail before (eyeballing a rum and coke doesn't count, does it?). This was very easy, and my friends pounded them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
These were REALLY strong. Wow! I added about 1/2 shot of grenidine (sp?) to soften it. Packs a punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a strong drink so we turned them into cordials for sipping....we had great stemmed shot glasses that we put a thin half of an orange ring into with a cherry and the cocktail...later we served it over ice and then filled it also half way with fruit punch tp take a little of the "Edge off"....it was a great cocktail and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Really sweet sticky drink. Don't spill any on the counter or you'll be stuck in the kitchen!!! HAHA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
WOW! Fantastic drink! Good flavor through out with a nice kick in the pants at the end. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hurricane Cocktail

See how to make New Orleans’ sweetly potent cocktail.

Sazerac Cocktail

This classic rye whiskey cocktail is the official drink of New Orleans.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States