New Orleans Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I am not a big fan of eggplant, but I grew up eating this dish. I absolutely love it...just as my mom made it. You can make it as mild or spicy as you like it. This was always a dish we brought to potluck dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I love eggplant casserole! It is a staple for any true cajun family. My grandmother has made this for years; however, I do not think she ever added the fennel bulb. Other than that...it is delicious! PS If you do not care for eggplant, put it in a food processor, so there will not be any large chunks to bite into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this with all lean ground beef, town rice and fennel powder instead of bulb -- was very good and different. Thanks Casseopeia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I grew up in Lafayette . Yes someone finally mentioned THE TRINITY! Great recipe ... thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I thought this recipe was great, but I followed all of the directions to a T on the eggplant and it ended up mushy! I felt like it was very overcooked based on all of the different steps. Next time I will probably just dice it and use it in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I did not use oil, butter, bread crumbs or fennel bulb(didn't have). I cut recipe in half and used 1/2 lb. very lean grd. meat and cooked it with the onion, grn pepper, celery & garlic powder. I steamed cut up eggplant with a little water in micro for 5 min. Added rice and drained eggplant to cooked meat/veg mix. I seasoned with Tony's creole seasoning. It seemed dry so I added an 8oz can of tomato sauce before baking for 30 min. We added cheddar cheese and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megsi54
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Lots of steps if you follow the recipe sequentially... next time I will multi-task. And cook eggplant in microwave, much easier! I didn't bake it with bread-crumbs and butter but the flavor was great, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States