New Orleans Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I am not a big fan of eggplant, but I grew up eating this dish. I absolutely love it...just as my mom made it. You can make it as mild or spicy as you like it. This was always a dish we brought to potluck dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I love eggplant casserole! It is a staple for any true cajun family. My grandmother has made this for years; however, I do not think she ever added the fennel bulb. Other than that...it is delicious! PS If you do not care for eggplant, put it in a food processor, so there will not be any large chunks to bite into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I grew up in Lafayette . Yes someone finally mentioned THE TRINITY! Great recipe ... thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I did not use oil, butter, bread crumbs or fennel bulb(didn't have). I cut recipe in half and used 1/2 lb. very lean grd. meat and cooked it with the onion, grn pepper, celery & garlic powder. I steamed cut up eggplant with a little water in micro for 5 min. Added rice and drained eggplant to cooked meat/veg mix. I seasoned with Tony's creole seasoning. It seemed dry so I added an 8oz can of tomato sauce before baking for 30 min. We added cheddar cheese and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this with all lean ground beef, town rice and fennel powder instead of bulb -- was very good and different. Thanks Casseopeia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I thought this recipe was great, but I followed all of the directions to a T on the eggplant and it ended up mushy! I felt like it was very overcooked based on all of the different steps. Next time I will probably just dice it and use it in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Bauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megsi54
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Lots of steps if you follow the recipe sequentially... next time I will multi-task. And cook eggplant in microwave, much easier! I didn't bake it with bread-crumbs and butter but the flavor was great, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This recipe is the bomb! I make this dish quite often. I make it spicy and also weaker for the family members with the weaker stomachs. I made a few changes just like everyone does. I use brown rice instead of white, I added mushrooms , A bunch more garlic cloves, Also use a can of diced tomato ( like someone else mentioned) to keep it moist. Comes out great every time! so glad I found this recipe. I am asked to make it for every pot luck dinner . thanks, Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States