New Orleans Corn Bisque with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
If you're watching your carb intake, this is a good recipe to substitute cauliflower for the potatoes. I actually prefer this soup with the cauliflower over the potatoes. To cut the fat/calories, using half (or more) the amount fat free evaporated milk and replacing the other half (or more) with organic chicken broth is really good, too. I do saute a couple cloves of minced garlic in with the onion and I'll shake in a little red pepper flake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Made as is, this is delicious. I didn't cook my potatoes ahead of time, I just threw them in with the sausage and the corn to simmer. I also used skim milk, and it thickened up nicely. Aside from the entire stick of butter or margarine and the entire pound of sausage, this is a pretty healthy meal, you know, not counting these two variables...lol. Next time I'll omit the salt, as the sausage makes it salty enough, and I'll try a reduced fat smoked sausage. With all that said, this is one cheap, delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
DELICIFABULOSITY! I made this yesterday, and it is now number 1 favorite of my family. I can't believe how much flavor it has, and am glad I doubled it. Being that New Orleans leads the title, I had to add a pinch of crushed red pepper, a dash of cayenne, and a heaping tsp. of Creole seasoning, Tony Chachere's original since my husband brought it home from New Orleans recently. I read reviews and also added 4 cloves of garlic since I doubled, and a 12 ounce bag of jumbo cooked, peeled and deveined shrimp. I threw in uncooked unpeeled potatoes and the frozen shrimp and frozen corn and simmered it for 30 minutes and it was just perfect. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Mmmm... I'm eating my second bowl as I type. It's so delicious. Like the prior poster, I added the potatoes, uncooked, in with the sausage and corn. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic with the onion, and I omitted the salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was tasty and easy - a quick, hearty meal that received the family stamp of approval. I took a shortcut and just tossed in two cans of diced potatoes and it was on the table in no time. I served it with sour cream and green onion biscuits to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyduck63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was delicious. I did change it up a bit because it was kind of bland. As suggested by prior reviews I added quite a bit of Tony's. Also I fried the sausage in a pan and used the fat to sautee the onions and make the rue. This eliminated the need for so much butter. I also used more potatoes to make it more filling. Served with warm French bread...it was ummy yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious, I did add my own changes, used canned milk with a little added water, I short on milk, it worked great, frozen sweet white corn, cooked the potatoes as suggested with the Bisque. My husband said he liked it a lot. I used red pepper and we also enjoyed a little hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i really enjoyed this! i used chorizo sausage, and added some louisiana hot sauce, cayenne and old bay seasoning. added garlic. i used frozen corn instead of canned. i used a cup of colby and sharp cheddar stirred into the soup at the end. i used 1/4 tsp of white pepper instead of black. added thyme, and used dry parsley. used alot more potatoes, did not cook beforehand. let them simmer with the soup until they were soft and falling apart, and then mashed a few. it was so delicious, i made a TON of it and it was all eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I have never written a review on any of the recipes I have gotten from this sight and I use one alteast everyday. I have to say something about this dish. This recipe was fantastic!! I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic and omitted the potato(only because I didnt have any). I also added 1 tsp of cajun seasoning, other than that I followed the recipe. I could have eaten the entire pot myself. My 12 year old extremely picky daughter liked it also. I will most definately make this again and pass the recipe along to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very yummy. I fed my family this and they loved it. Especially on this snowy night. This meal was made on a budget and good. I used the suggestion to cook the sausage and use the fat from that to make the rue. We will be making this meal again very soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States