New Orleans Corn Bisque with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Hubby took the leftovers to work and was very happy, said it was the best he's ever had. He crumbled corn bread in it to thicken it up after reheating in a microwave. I will make this again and again. Easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Made as is, this is delicious. I didn't cook my potatoes ahead of time, I just threw them in with the sausage and the corn to simmer. I also used skim milk, and it thickened up nicely. Aside from the entire stick of butter or margarine and the entire pound of sausage, this is a pretty healthy meal, you know, not counting these two variables...lol. Next time I'll omit the salt, as the sausage makes it salty enough, and I'll try a reduced fat smoked sausage. With all that said, this is one cheap, delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Mmmm... I'm eating my second bowl as I type. It's so delicious. Like the prior poster, I added the potatoes, uncooked, in with the sausage and corn. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic with the onion, and I omitted the salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
DELICIFABULOSITY! I made this yesterday, and it is now number 1 favorite of my family. I can't believe how much flavor it has, and am glad I doubled it. Being that New Orleans leads the title, I had to add a pinch of crushed red pepper, a dash of cayenne, and a heaping tsp. of Creole seasoning, Tony Chachere's original since my husband brought it home from New Orleans recently. I read reviews and also added 4 cloves of garlic since I doubled, and a 12 ounce bag of jumbo cooked, peeled and deveined shrimp. I threw in uncooked unpeeled potatoes and the frozen shrimp and frozen corn and simmered it for 30 minutes and it was just perfect. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Big hit but the size was too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. Given, how I hate when people change a recipe and then rate it down, I think this recipe is good as is or with changes. I read the other reviews and decided to spice it up with some Tony Chachere's seasoning, a little cayenne and crushed red pepper, minced garlic and a few shrimp. I also did not precook the potatoes. It was a huge hit with my family. Even my teenage daughters liked it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Yummy!! Really good and very easy to put together. Added 2 cloves of minced garlic and didn't precook the potatoes. Added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper but husband added more. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Absolutely Fabu! You don't need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Yummy! Just made this and boy is it good. The kids and husband will be home soon to try it out. There's a chill in the air and this should warm us up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hostess1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
very good wife is very picky eater and she likes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States