New Orleans Corn Bisque with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
As is, it's very good, though a little bland. Second time I added Lawry's seasoned salt to taste, used frozen corn and browned the meat with the onions, then threw in some shrimp. There's no need to cook the potatoes first. This is a terrific recipe in that it's good, and easy to make after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
husband loved it. Will add this the 'will make again and again' list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Underseasoned. Underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Phenomenal! I added a pinch of paprika and cayenne, after all it is "New Orleans"! It is very flavorable and was a big hit. I did skip the potatoes simply because I didn't have any but they were not necessary. I also used a hilshire "cheddar wurst" smoked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I added two cloves of garlic when I added the onion, and a pinch of cayenne pepper and half a teaspoon of Tony Chachere's in with the flour. Turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Channelview, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made this as written the first time and it was good. This last time I made it I used half chicken broth and milk. I added chopped celery and carrots to bump up the veggies and added a clove of minced garlic when sauteing the veggies. We liked the additions. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Next time, we'll brown the sausage to add some crispiness. We added red pepper flakes, paprika, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper for some spice and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
i think it needs a lot more flavor but with the right additions of your choosing it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Smelled great, tasted great! Had to keep an eye on it while it was cooking b/c my husband kept sneaking bites....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very good, except one thing... how you gonna use "New Orleans" in the title without some cajun kick? I deleted the salt and subbed in a few hearty shakes of Tony Chachere's creole seasoning and a few shakes of cajun spice... I sauteed the sliced sausage along with the onions, and I used canned potatoes for ease. This came together so quickly and tasted so great that I am sure I will make this many many times! Oh yeah, and you can skip totally skip the cheddar cheese on top... I tried it both ways and it was just as good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States