New Orleans Corn Bisque with Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was very tasty to get it to be true to form and name (NEW ORLEANS), I added a teaspoon of Creole seasonng to kick it up a notch. It's now a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
As written, this recipe just didn't taste "new orleans-y" to me. I made the recipe as written, except, like others, I added the potatoes with the corn and sausage. I tasted it, thought it was pretty bland, and then added some cajun seasoning. I think using andouille sausage would pep this recipe up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I don’t like spicy food so I’m not sure why I even tried this recipe but it was sooo yummy – and my husband loved it! I used the Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning that a reviewer suggested and it was wonderful. Next time I will try it with shrimp as another reviewer suggested. I do recommend that you have all of your ingredients ready and waiting because you will be doing a lot of stirring – but so worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I thought it would have been thicker, next time I would add more potatos. We used the turkey smoked sausage and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
this recipe is fantastic! My family loved it and the leftovers which NEVER happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Family loved this-- I used sweet potatoes because that's all I had and I will definitely use them again. I peeled and cubed them, then nuked them for about 5 minutes in water, just to make sure they would cook all the way. The soup ended up simmering about 20 minutes. I'm going to send it to all of my mom friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
FANTASTIC soup and easy to do! Couple changes I did, I used about 3 cups potatoes because the 2 I had were large, why not throw it all in? I also added the potatoes in raw, when I added the corn and sausage, and then let simmer for 20 mins. Used skim milk and thickened up just fine. Added few shakes of creole spice and red pepper flakes for a kick. Will make again for sure, hubby says dont change a thing! To us, it didnt even need parsley or cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious meal without too much fuss! I've made this quite a few times now, and following a couple previous reviewers' suggestions, I always brown my sausage first, use a can of creamed corn, and add my cubed potatoes raw. I do add some garlic powder and a healthy dash or two of nutmeg. Leftovers are great too; the flavors blend nicely and it reheats beautifully! This is a regular in the fall/winter rotation. Absolutely love it! Served with some garlic bread or crescent rolls, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Very good, quick and easy. I would call it more of a chowder than a bisque. Perfect for a rainy evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I loved this, I didn't precook potatoes and it worked fine. I did make my rue separate and then added it to the soup..Added quite a bit of red pepper flakes, and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States