New Orleans Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
FABULOUS! I omitted chocolate, upped my Bourbon to 3+ tablespoons, made my own crust, and upped my chopped pecans to almost 2 1/2 c. So many compliments! And, simple, simple, simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Photo by Miss Susan O
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Pretty good pie recipe. I'm not a huge fan of pecan pies but my family enjoyed it (made it for xmas dinner). I followed other's suggestions and: 1.) added 1-2 more tbs of bourbon (Maker's Mark) and 2.) sprinkled semi-sweet Ghiradelli chips on the crust not mix in the batter. I would also definitely make your crust and don't buy pre-made... it does make a difference. Pie turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Susan O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was a huge hit at my Thanskgiving dinner and was the first pie to be finished. I found myself licking the pie-server afterwards because I hardly got any! Its tough being the hostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made this exactly how the recipe stated. The chocolate chips didn't melt and intertwine with the filling. Instead, I have pecan pie with chocolate chunks. Not what the recipe made me to believe.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Fabulous......made this for Thanksgiving, this turned out better than any Pecan Pie I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very good. I cut back on the chocolate chips per some other reviews to 3/4 cup. Next time I will cut just a little further. All said, everyone loved this. It is a keeper recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
best pie ever! I made this for Thanksgiving this year, took it to a family dinner, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
So very yummy! Only thing I did different was I doubled the bourbon..It was great ...very rich..thanks for the cavities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Don't count the calories, just make it! I added some grated unsweetened chocolate as I prefer a dark chocolate, less sweet taste. I am making two tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The taste of this pie is amazing. I made it to the exact recipe, and it came out a bit oily for some reason. I also had to bake my pie for an hour and 20 minutes before it set. I might only use 3/4 cup chocolate chips next time as they seemed overpowering, and add a bit more whiskey as I could barely taste it. I will definitely make this again with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States