New Orleans Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Excellent, I used half of the bourbon and it tasted awesome. This pie is really sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is my very first pecan pie I baked and it came out very nice! I love pecan so much and I put the double amount of pecan. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Love love love this pie! I add a little more bourbon than normal, but it tastes amazing. Just remember to stir it well otherwise the corn syrup and chocolate separate while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars!! Stayed close to the original recipe but incorporated some suggestions from earlier reviewers. I arranged the chocolate chips over the crust before adding the filling, upped the bourbon to 4 Tbsp and baked an hour @350. Perfect. It was served in very small slices with a dollop of whipped cream. This was our contribution to a New Orleans-themed party and everybody went crazy for it. One guest sat down at the piano post-dinner and made up songs about Pecan Pie, as the leftovers disappeared one spoonful at a time. Awesome recipe, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent pie. Followed advice in comments about putting the chocolate chips at the bottom of the crust before adding the filling on top, also increased bourbon to 1/3c. Great flavor, warm or straight from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit. I didn't adjust anything, and everyone loved it. Next time I make it, through, I'll probably increase the bourbon by another tablespoon so the flavor is more pronounced. I used Maker's Mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This pie is so simple and yet so delicious. It is one of my go-to recipes when I want to impress my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Outstanding! Our pecans are coming in here in SC and this pie is a frequent event at our home during this time of year. I use JD Black and it cuts the sweetness a bit. All my friends love this treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayjwu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I prepared this recipe just as described with the only change being putting the chocolate chips on the bottom of the pecan mixture. Overall, it was 'meh'. I like each of the ingredients separate, but together they just didn't jive. The chocolate was overpowering and allowed the bitterness of the pecans to linger. Pecans are subtly sweet and the chips were far too sweet. I made two for Thanksgiving, but only served one. I'm going to let the second one sit until Monday and bring it to work to see if the flavors meld as it 'ages'. I won't make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadsolomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Fantastic pie!! Pecan pie is good but this is heaven in your mouth. Thanks for the recipe. Family will love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States