New Orleans Barbequed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
First off, I hate anythiing marinated in Italian dresssing so I was skeptical of this recipe but decided to give it a try based on the great reviews. I had to alter it because I grilled the shrimp. Instead of ½ cup of butter I used ¼ cup of olive oil. I used 2 cloves fresh garlic, ½ fresh squeezed lemon and 2 tsp Old Bay. It was simply amazing. My neighbor who came to our barbeque also brought shrimp and I ended up feeling bad because everyone was raving and devouring my shrimp! Yes, they are that unbelievably good! I can't wait to make this recipe as written with the butter baked in the oven. I just wanted to let people know that it is delicious grilled too! Also, I peeled my shrimp and the flavor permeated the shrimp and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I'm hoping this 2nd review gets printed: We have made this many many times now and have served it to crowds of people, everyone, I mean everyone raves about it. old review: We made this recipe according to the directions and used 2 cloves of fresh garlic and a teaspoon of Old Bay. We loved it. A few days later we had company and doubled the recipe (add 5-10 mins cooking time as it does take a bit longer with more shrimp). We noticed on the first go-around that there was plenty of "dipping" sauce leftover in spite of us having gone thru a small loaf of French bread so on the second go-around we added a pint of fresh mushrooms. Still plenty of sauce for dipping and some mighty tasty mushrooms too!!! One of the best recipes on this site and incredibly easy to make. 5 stars +++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Very tasty, and definitely a keeper. I used fat free italian dressing and it came out just fine, especially with all the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I really am sorry but this recipe was horrible, all we could taste was the Zesty Italian Salad Dressing, my DH who is the LEAST picky eater you will ever meet, he eats EVERYTHING, threw his entire plate in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Like everyone else, I was skeptical. I have been to Pascal Manales and I have made other recipes for BBQ shrimp. I live on the gulf coast and we are very picky down here! But this was simpler than other recipes I have used and I don't think we gave up any flavor. I did add some worcestshire sauce and some tabasco for heat. Several people asked for the recipe and so it must have been a success! I served it in hollowed out bread bowls with the sauce in bowls on the side. Pretty impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLDOOIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I'd rate this one ten stars if I could. It was incredible. It reminded me of Pasquales Manales (sp?) bbq'd shrimp, in New Orleans. We dipped french bread in the sauce (which I doubled), and I also made white rice on the side and we poured the sauce on that, too. Great with a green salad on the side. My 10-year-old son was eating the leftover shrimp COLD the next day!! I tasted it and it was awesome!!! This recipe will not disappoint. Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I and everyone at my Mardi Gras party loved loved loved this shrimp. I changed it slightly. I used Old Bay Seasoning instead of pepper, and I used fresh garlic. It was fantastically easy to prepare--just the right thing to get you out of the kitchen fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Mmmmm....Mmmmmm...Mmmmmm.....GOOOOD!!!! I made this for an impromtu neighborhood BBQ. Smash hit! Since then, have made it for every holiday bash and party/potluck event throughout the year. Tasty. Thanks for sharing. P.S. Try substituting the Italian Dressing with one of those bottled meat marinades. Teryaki is one of our favorites. This recipe will impress...definitely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I tried this recipe after first finding it a couple of years ago. Ever since, it is a hit (and requested) at all of our family get-togethers. I've pretty much stuck to the recipe, except I always use fresh, minced garlic. And lately, for ease of serving throughout the night, I make it in my slow cooker. Just as the shrimp turns pink, I turn it down to "keep warm" and we can enjoy it for most of the evening. Best shrimp recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Used this recipe a few months ago and it was fabulous! Tonight is New Year's Eve and we usually make crab legs, but we are adding these shrimp to our menu. Not only are they easy to make, they are just as good as anything you could get at a fancy restaurant, if not better. I was originally hesitant about the italian dressing, but once it is mixed with the butter and cooked with the shrimp, you'd never know there was italian dressing in it. Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States