New Orleans Barbeque Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
AMAZING! One of the best shrimp recipes I have found. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
The flavors in this are awesome! I was being lazy so I just melted the butter and mixed together all of the rest of the ingredients, threw it in a baking dish and baked it at 375 for 20 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was decent, and we enjoyed it. Though we felt it could have used more seasoning, but we normally adjust anyway. I am not familiar with New Orleans BBQ shrimp, maybe this is the authentic flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I forgot to sprinkle salt at the end, it definately affected the tatse. Good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My husband has made this twice - we love it. We cut the butter in half and it was still plenty of sauce to soak up with focaccia. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jethridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Actually, my neighbor is a chef in New Orleans and he gave me some tips about BBQ shrimp. First, the unsalted butter goes LAST not first because you do not want the butter to break down, you want it to stay nice and creamy for dipping your bread. You can use wine instead of beer. Also, add half a lemon, squeeze juices and then throw lemon into pan. You simmer the shrimp (with heads on for extra flavor) in the liquids and spices (You can purchase Creole seasoning, we use Tony Chacheres and omit all the separate spices and salt) and let the liquid cook down and the shrimp turn nice and pink, Once the shrimp are pink and liquid cook down some, add the butter and stir just until melted then remove from heat. If the butter breaks, you can add some whipping cream. You can see this recipe demonstrated on YouTube. Just make sure you use UNSALTED butter or the dish will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I never have all of the spices on hand, so I make do with whatever I have. Usually some cajun spice. Tonight I added some olive oil, okra, green peppers, and zucchini to it. I also doubled the spices and the wet ingredients. It was phenomenal! I served it over rice with butter and my family was going back for more. I substituted ginger ale for beer, added 1 tsp balsalmic, tapatio, and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I used not quite a stick of butter and it was plenty. The shrimp had a little kick. We enjoyed them and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very good. Added tsp soy and sugar and hot sauce. Helped sauce I think. Took another reviewers advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I served this recipe each week for a year as a charter chef on a sailing vacation. It was the grand finally dinner served over a rice spinach mixture with crusty French bread for soaking up the flavorful butter. The shrimp shells were left on for a big messy peel and eat, family style dinner. Finger bowls and a lot of napkins accompanied this wonderful, fun meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States