New Mom Broccoli Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I think the recipe as-is would only be a 3 1/2 stars. I rated this with 5 stars with my changes because the recipe was so easy and used a minimal amount of ingredients. I couldn't imagine cooking eggs/quiche without cheese, so I added about 3/4 cup feta cheese, 1/2 cup parm cheese and garlic powder. also decreased to 1/2 onion since I was making more of a breakfast quiche. I also used 2 - 10 oz packages of chopped broccoli. SO Easy and the ingredients readily available in the kitchen. Will definitely make again! Only cooked for @60 minutes until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We tried this recipe last night because we happen to have these ingredients on hand along with a big bag of frozen broccoli. I made some changes to this recipe which made it a 5 star for me. I took the suggestions from StephD and added 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese and added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder because I didn't have any cheddar cheese on hand and the parm cheese was the perfect flavor. It didn't need to bake for 90 min. but one hour was sufficient and I would recommend coating the baking dish heavily because the egg mixture will stick to the pan. I enjoyed this very much and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Really GOOD!! I put in garlic powder and topped it with cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Even though I changed this recipe a bit, I still give it a 5 star because it is such a great base recipe. I made this for my gluten/casein sensitive son so I did not add cheese like the other reviewers. I added 3 T of almond flour instead of the all-purpose flour. I also added 1/2 to 3/4 of a can of artichokes that I chopped up. I did not have time to cook the onion so I just used onion and garlic powder. I also used fresh chopped broccoli. My son said it was great! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Nice to find a dairy free broccoli casserole that the kids LOVE that doesn't involve overly salted soup mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
SO good! I love that this uses so much broccoli. I made the mistake of buying a 5 pound bag of frozen broccoli at Costco then realizing I don't like frozen broccoli as a side dish. I made this and it was so awesome. I will probably buy more frozen broccoli just to make this. I did add 1/2c pecorino romano cheese (as others suggested) but this is very, very good. And it doesn't use any "cream of" soup (which I didn't have on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
It was delicious! My husband has a vendetta against onions, so I left those out. It didn't affect the recipe at all. It turned out great, cooked smoothly, and made an awesome lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HumanBeing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
excellent- i added feta and parmesean like someone else- kids didnt love it but they ate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3rdgenerationcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Unionville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I did not care for it. It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
So I looked at what other people were saying about this "new mom kugel". First off, the reason this kugel does not have cheese is because often times when we have "kugel" is when we are having a meal with meat. If you are Jewish, many people choose not to mix milk with meat. So I thought that the other adaptions and reviews were right on. First off, add the spice. I usually do a few shakes of black pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder and sweet paprika. I also added a 1/2 tsp on chicken soup mix powder. I also mixed 3 cloves fresh garlic to the onion saute. If you are making it dairy the parm cheese is a perfect addition or I would say cheddar would also work. Thank you for a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States