New Mom Broccoli Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
OMG this is sooooo good!!! I've made it three times now and although it makes a massive pan full, I've wound up with ZERO leftovers every single time. It comes out very much like a broccoli quiche. Good as a side dish, but it would also be awesome for breakfast because of this. Quick, easy, DELICIOUS. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was goooood! I added some minced fresh garlic to the sauteed onion, used Herbamare instead of regular salt, and added about a half cup of parmesan to the mix, plus a little sprinkle on top. Aged cheddar would be good too. Will make again. Cooked in 60 minutes. **Updated on Aug 10th! Just made this again with 3 crowns of fresh broccoli and crumbled feta mixed in, grated cheddar on top, and we baked it in the 8" cast iron frying pan that we sauteed the onions in, it cooked in 45 minutes and was most excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Had 60 minutes to make a "veggie" hot dish for a pot luck. Made this added a bag of frozen portabella mushrooms and bacon bits - had to microwave for 20 minutes to speed up cook time. Turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I did make several adjustments based off the reviews of others. I added a pinch of fresh ground nutmeg, pinch cayenne, large pinch granulated garlic. I cooked up some turkey bacon then sautéed the onions in the residue. I like the smoky flair the turkey added, I did not mix in the bacon itself. I also added 1/4 parmesan cheese. Oh, and I used fresh broccoli that had been slightly steamed. I only cooked it for 40 minutes. The result was fabulous; I have my second batch for the week baking right now. The first one went to a book club dinner with a Jewish theme. Which inspired me to find the recipe to begin with. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
YUmmy! We really liked this. I used half the eggs and mayonnaise and it still was yummy! great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Nice, kind of a quiche without the crust but not nearly as much flavor. I would not have made it dairy free (I'm guessing that was a dietary choice.) Swiss or guyere would be a nice addition. We were okay with it, but not a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Love, love, love this casserole! Used lite mayo to reduce calories, and added garlic powder and reduced fat cheese blend. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe and so versatile! I've tried it with fresh broccoli and it was delicious. Today I substituted red bell peppers for the broccoli and it was even better. I've also made it with asparagus. As other reviewers, I think it really benefits from a dash of garlic powder and tiny sprinkle of nutmeg. I've made it without the flour for gluten-free guests and it worked out just as well that way. I've also made it in a muffin tin for appetizers, and they turned out delicious and beautiful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Didn't think this was very good. Also didn't think it was particularly fast/easy to make. You have to remember to thaw the broccoli, grease the pan, saute the onions, get another bowl dirty to mix the ingredients, then bake for 90 mins...makes a mess and takes forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was delicious! I added 1/3 cup cheddar cheese (I halved the recipe) and 1/4 tablespoon garlic powder. I didn't brown the onions as long as directed, only about 15 min total. I cooked it for about 40 min. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanelnb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States