New Mexico Green Chile Breakfast Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
My version is scramble eggs, fry w/pam, cut Xtra hot green chile in half , place a cheese wedge on each half, place on top of egg for 2 minutes, dump on to a flour tortilla and enjoy! Make sure you use fresh Hatch or Mimbres green. Actually good for your health and improves your metabolism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
For the life of me, I can't figure out why you would only serve this at breakfast. Great for any time, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These are sooo good! If you can, invest in Hatch green chiles. You'll never want to eat canned green chiles again! I have a large batch shipped to me each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it is quite cumbersome and labor intensive. However, this recipe is really about the sauce. It’s phenomenal! As long as you make the sauce as directed, the rest it a mute point. It doesn’t matter if you use frozen hash browns or leftovers from a previous breakfast. The sauce is what makes or breaks the burritos. I used fresh roasted Hatch green chilies this time, but I also froze Hatch chilies for future use. No doubt about it, this one’s a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
EDIT --- I'm putting this at the top, because it's pretty important.. When simmering the chile, make sure to not let the peppers simmer for too long, they can begin to lose their flavor as they're already roasted/cooked beforehand. Also, if you can find it - use the FROZEN hatch green chile. Okay. So I'm kind of nervous to say this, as there may be several New Mexicans lurking about... BUT - I do hate green chile. Yes, I am a resident of New Mexico. Born and raised. This was the first time I've EVER liked green chile. I used mild because I don't like my chile to overwhelm the taste of the dish, but I still want a little "kick." I could walk across the street and pay $5 for this burrito at a taco truck, but it tasted 200x better while relaxing in my pj's and chowing down on this baby. THANK YOU "applejedi1," for this outstanding recipe. Now, if only I could eat one everyday without increasing my chances of that heart attack ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Awesome! I used frozen hashbrown potatoes to save time. These are so addictive..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookieMomster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this was excellent and my guests loved it. To save time, I used frozen hash browns and I also layered the dish like a casserole and baked at 350 for 10 minutes (as all the ingredients were warm). Tortillas-egg/green chile mixture-bacon-hash browns-cheese. Then I served with sour cream and salsa...no leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I wanted something different for breakfast this morning so I tried this recipe. These were wonderful. My husband ate two and that is unusual. I reduced the serving size to three because there is only the two of us. The only thing I did different was to use Ortega canned chillies because that is what I had on hand. I used my hand blender to smooth out the sauce because I don't like chunks of onion and thickened the sauce more. I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Wow these are really good. I really wasn't expecting to much from this recipe since well its a breakfast burrito. Not much surprises there. But... the green chili sauce in this recipe makes these amazing! I don't think I'll ever eat another breakfast burrito without it. I did change the recipe a little bit. I could not find frozen Hatch, New Mexico green chili peppers so I used canned diced and roasted green chilies, since I was using canned I used 2 7oz cans to make sure I got a lot of the green chili flavor. Also instead of using vegetable oil to fry the potatoes in I used the bacon grease (why let all that flavor go?). My potatoes must have been really big because I had way to many after shredding them. I think 2-3 would have been perfect. Thanks for the recipe I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
they were really good! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States