New England Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This tasted good.....but....after an hour of cooking, potatos were still not quite done. After an hour I had to add more water, cover with foil and cooked 45 more minutes. I expected to have this meal ready within an hour.... maybe the potatos should have been chopped smaller...mine were 1" to 1 1/2" cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipe was easy to make. To prevent burning or drying the cabbage and keeping the cooking time within range, put foil over the baking dish. I used a "light and healthy" kielbasa to lessen the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I thought this sounded really good, because I have a recipe similar to it that I cook on the stove top. But this turned out bland, I had to cook it longer and then the cabbage was too dry. We ate it, but the leftovers have been untouched in the fridge. I will stick to my stovetop recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This recipe would be great with some modification. The dish came out greasy and bland. The sausage should be cooked separately and some seasoning should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
My family really liked this recipe. I did add carrots and used chicken stock instead of water. I also sauteed the sausage in a skillet to get rid of some of the fat before putting it into the oven. Overall, this was very easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I was surprised that there was so much flavor in this dish. It was super quick to make and tasted awesome. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I use this recipe except I use canned ham patties , with or without cheese , & simply chop it all & fry like you would potatoes (slowly with just a little water in the bottom or the cabbage will burn ), then season with salt & a good bit of ground pepper . Onion or any sort of fresh pepper make great add-ins , as does grated cheese . Out of 6 kids , only 1 wont eat it , the others cant get enough .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This receipe was easy to prepare but somewhat bland. Should definitely be covered (not mentioned in recipe)to prevent cabbage from drying and tips scorching. Ended up taking it out of the oven and cooking on stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I loved this recipe on a cold February night. I added carrot, onions, garlic salt, and pepper. I also dissolved a chicken boullion cube in the water before mixing the ingredients together. It had great flavor!! This took longer to cook though, maybe an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used 16 oz. coleslaw mix, a coarsely chopped onion, 4 medium potatoes and Healthy Choice Kielbasa diced in one inch pieces. Substituted chicken stock for water and baked covered for 50-60 minutes. Served with mustard on the side. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States