New England Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I liked this one-pot dinner---starch, veggie, & meat all in one. However, it was very, very bland...even sprinkled liberally with my husband's spice mixture! Basic salt & pepper also helped alot! But that being said, it is one of those dishes that can easily be customized to taste, spices, ingredients. I subbed sliced carrots for the cabbage because I didn't want to run to the store & had carrots on hand. I will make this again with cabbage. (I know, I know, change a major ingred. in the recipe and still rate it...as is it is probably a 3 star recipe but I bumped it to 4 because of my subsitition). PS Also added more water than called for (about a cup more)and I cooked on 350 for about an hour. I added the sausage in the last 30 min. so that it wouldn't be too dry or burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Per other suggestions, I dissolved a chicken bouillon cube in the cup of (warm) water. I also added an onion, a small apple, a generous sprinkling of black pepper, and half a package of hot dogs which we had in the fridge. I covered the dish and baked it for about 45 minutes. My husband and son loved this casserole--they ate three helpings each. My husband even said the flavor was "phenomenal."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather K.
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
We've made this a couple of times now and love it. Following other reviewers' suggestions, I brown and drain the kielbasa before adding to the casserole. I also added salt & lots of freshly ground pepper. Then I pour 2 cups of chicken broth over everything rather than 1 cup of water. I use my stoneware casserole & lid to bake for an hour. With my changes, I'd give it 5 stars, but I think as it is would be too bland for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was a simple recipe to put together, but probably not one I would make again. I substituted chicken broth for the water, put all the ingredients in the baking dish and poured the broth over top. I also seasoned with salt and pepper. It wasn't really good or bad, just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was really good! Both my husband and I really liked it and I will definitely be making it again. I took previous poster advice and used chicken broth (1 can)and added celery and onions. I also covered it and it took almost an hour to bake. We found it very flavorful, as well as easy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KULESTA10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Awesome! I took others reviews and modified: Used Healthy Choice Kielbasa. Added 2 carrots and 1/2 red onion. Tossed w/ 2 tsp. of cajun seasoning in bowl. Poured 1.5 c. of chicken broth over mix in pan, then covered with foil. You must bake for 1 hr. for all to be nice & tender. Very yummy , and super healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My husband loved it although I took the advise of all the recipes. I used 1 1/2 cans chicken broth, added two carrots, covered w/ foil and baked for 1 hour. It turned out perfect! Easy! And great on a frigid night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Quick, easy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Too much for a 9 x13 pan. The potatoes were not cooked even after an hour. Some of the cabbage was burned on the top but that was okay. Very bland tasting. We won't use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
The directions are misleading, as 1 cup of water was not nearly enough. When I checked the dish's progress half way through, much of the cabbage was a bit burnt, and the potatoes not done at all. I added water and waited a half hour, and the potatoes were barely tender. Next time, I'll try this in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States