New England Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was really good and so easy! Following several reviews, I used a bag of cole slaw mix, 2 cups of vegetable stock instead of water, covered with foil, cooked for 45 minutes, and topped with sour cream. Very yummy! :) (also, used turkey kielbasa)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kseow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
We enjoyed this dish! I had read the reviews prior to trying it, and I took to heart the reviews that stated that this was bland. Prior to baking, I seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. I also mixed in dijon mustard (we love mustard in this house!), covered with foil and baked for 30 minutes. Also, I substituted Sam Adams beer for the water, just for the extra oomph. A great, easy meal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I love this recipe and make it often on chilly Sundays. We usually eat it with honey mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a great base for a good recipe, thats why I gave it 4 stars with the following changes. I sauteed the kielbasa in onions and 2T olive oil, and a few shakes of worchester. Then I used chicken broth instead of water and added more worchester to the mixture. This recipe also needs A LOT of seasoning. I used garlic powder, salt and pepper. I covered it and cooked it for 40 minutes and then cooked it uncovered for 20 more minutes because the potatoes took a long time to cook. I also suggest eating it with mustard. With these additions, this is a great easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STUUUAAART

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This turned out delicious! I used Hillshire Farms Lite Kielbasa and cut it up into small cubes. (The photo had me confused. The author says to dice the kielbasa but the photo shows otherwise.) If you dice the kielbasa the flavor comes out. Using Lite kielbasa, I didn't find the dish greasy at all. I added some black pepper, a little bit of garlic powder and a splash of wine. Oh, and I had some baby carrots and turnip laying around so I those in. We loved it! We will definitely make this again. I'm going to try angelhair coleslaw mix (just cabbage) with those bagged, pre-diced potatoes sometime for an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I've been making this dish for years; but I always add onion and carrots. Also I cook it on top of the stove; never in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoffman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Being from New England, my mother prepared this dish quite often. She always included onions and carrots to give it flavor and would sometimes use ham instead of kielbasa. She boiled all ingredients in a dutch oven until the vegetables were tender and served it with pickled peppers on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I can't really figure out why so many people left low ratings. There are no spices in the recipe so if you don't like bland food ...... spice it up!!!! I left out the taters and added carrots, onions, fresh thyme and 3 cloves of chopped garlic. I also replaced the water with veggie broth. A SUPER EASY AND YUMMY DINNER!! BTW - we cooked 45 min and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
It was so good and EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMI_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I liked this one-pot dinner---starch, veggie, & meat all in one. However, it was very, very bland...even sprinkled liberally with my husband's spice mixture! Basic salt & pepper also helped alot! But that being said, it is one of those dishes that can easily be customized to taste, spices, ingredients. I subbed sliced carrots for the cabbage because I didn't want to run to the store & had carrots on hand. I will make this again with cabbage. (I know, I know, change a major ingred. in the recipe and still rate it...as is it is probably a 3 star recipe but I bumped it to 4 because of my subsitition). PS Also added more water than called for (about a cup more)and I cooked on 350 for about an hour. I added the sausage in the last 30 min. so that it wouldn't be too dry or burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States