New England Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Really good and hearty! Makes a bit too much for just my 2 person household, so I will have to scale back the recipe next time. Also, I used a bit of seasoning salt to vamp up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Hefflinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
As written, this recipe does not work. The cabbage burns and the potatoes don't get cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I love this recipe! I added an entire onion and bag of baby carrots. Also added seasoning salt. Cover while cooking while others suggested. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Sorry but I have to say that this was bland and burnt. I had to make some MAJOR changes and was not satisfied with the oven method. First of all I sliced the kielbasa into 2" chunks. Put it on the bottom of a dutch oven with a whole onion. Then added 4 potatoes cut up into 1 and 1/2" cubes, 6 whole carrots sliced in half lengthwise. added water to cover and added 2 bay leaves, 8 peppercorns and 2 cloves of garlic, bruised. I cooked it on the stove top on med/low for 2 hours and added 1 medium cabbage cut into 6 wedges. Cooked for an additional 20 mins until the cabbage was tender. Served it with spicy mustard and the family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was still not done after an hour in a 400 degree oven. We covered it the first 30 minutes and left it uncovered the rest. I had to scoop it out of the baking pan and finish cooking it in a frying pan on the stove. The flavor was really good, though. I thought the idea of baking it sounded good instead of all the fried versions. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty and good comfort food. We sauteed an onion with the sausage first, then the cabbage and two cloves of garlic. Added a healthy dose of black pepper, then two carrots. Baked for an hour, stirring a couple times and using a lid the last 30 minutes. Served with sour cream. Filling and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I make this but substitute bagged sauerkraut keeping the juices. If the kraut is too much you can add chopped apple to counteract some of the bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is a basic version of a New England dinner. Traditionally, it's a boiled dinner, which would ixnay the dried/burnt cabbage some people complained about. Others mentioned blandness-a dinner like this is supposed to to get its flavor from the meat, soaked into the veggies; it's not meant to be an in-your-face flavor dish. I like to add baby carrots, garlic, thyme and S&P. Perhaps a bayleaf. These changes bump it up to four stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
With modifications suggested in comments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I just made this for my family for dinner and was so surprised! I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! Fast, easy and great. The cabbage was perfectly steamed and sweet, the potatoes were moist and the sausage was great! The kids added a little bit of butter, salt, pepper and mustard on the side. Thank you for a great easy dinner that tastes super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States