New England Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We substituted Townhouse crackers for the breadcrumbs. For our first time making crab cakes they were very good. Although not as good as our favorite restaurant (best crab cakes in Maryland) we will be making this again. For the person that thought they weren't flat enough, you should be able to make them as flat or as round as you like when you shape the cakes. They are not going to flatten more when you cook them. They will also hold together better if you refrigerate the cakes before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
i added just alittle bit of fresh lemon juice and used the Japenense style bread crumbs. i love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I thought these crabcakes were the best. My husband just loved them and he can be a tough critic. I used the seasoned bread crumbs, they were a little salty, may try the plain next time. I would definitely make them for company. These cakes are so easy to make. The canned crab meat is good. I fried them in butter, and we ate them plain, but they would be good with tartar sauce, also. Thank you! A delicious & easy-to-make dinner, I searched with french fries & coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
added diced green onions and red bell pepper in the mix. Dipped them into panko bread crumbs to ad crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
I thought this was a great recipe. I added a tiny bit of parmesan cheese and a little more crab than the recipe called for and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe was VERY easy and QUICK. I served it as an appetizer for a dinner party that I was having. I altered it a little. I added about 1/4 tsp of fresh lemon juice and I broiled the crab cakes instead of frying them. They were just perfect. I served them with a side of chipolte dipping sauce - YUMMY!! Can't wait to make this recipe again!! Everyone just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New York, USA
Living In: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
These crab cakes were great. It was the first time we tried making them at home, but they turned out delicious. We will definitely make them again and probably at some point for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
All I can say is that these were AWESOME!!! I used low-fat mayo instead.....I just wish crab meat wasn't so expensive, otherwise I'd make these all of the time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Perfect ~ I followed the recipe as written and they are not only easy to make but delish!! For those who opted to leave out the Old Bay and then leave a lesser rating ... there really is no substitution for Old Bay. If you are going to make crab cakes you really want to include it. I used a whole grain dijon mustard and Mmmmm, Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Made these last night and they were without question the best crab cakes I've ever had, hands down! Served for my beau and got rave reviews. I cut back just a little on the Old Bay, made four good sized cakes and broiled them, and were PERFECT! For those who wanted more flavor, try using Italian breadcrumbs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States