New England Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
I thought this was a great recipe. I added a tiny bit of parmesan cheese and a little more crab than the recipe called for and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Great recipe! I used 1 lb. lump crab meat along with 1/2 lb. of mixed crab meat , but held the original mix of adders. Also I broiled vs. fried, but the whole family gave it a big thumbs up. Thanks, Jenna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
These crab cakes were great. It was the first time we tried making them at home, but they turned out delicious. We will definitely make them again and probably at some point for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
All I can say is that these were AWESOME!!! I used low-fat mayo instead.....I just wish crab meat wasn't so expensive, otherwise I'd make these all of the time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
Have had better- sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Personally I thought they were ok. However everybody who ate the crabcakes enjoyed them. If you like the flavor of green onions in your crabcakes these aren't the ones for you. I thought the recipe could have used a dominant flavor like green onions. So maybe I'll try it again more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This was my first time making crab cakes. They turned out good, but I think they need a little more flavor. I think next time I would add some crumbled crackers or more seasoning. These were ok, but something was definitely missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was definitely a great starter recipe. I had never made crab cakes before - and didn't realize it was so easy. I added a bit of green onion to the recipe, as per a previous reviewer's comments, along with a tiny bit of finely chopped red bell pepper. I also had to add more mayonaise to hold the mixture together, as the first batch crumbled apart when cooking. Overall, it was a great recipe and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Quick, Easy, and Tasty. nough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
The recipe doesn't stipulate what type of crab meat is best but I learned the hard way. Fresh crab is important and use the white parts only. I added red bell peppers and green onions and it gave it a kick. Be sure not to over cook the cakes too crispy outside leads to too crispy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRocka Delicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States