New England Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We substituted Townhouse crackers for the breadcrumbs. For our first time making crab cakes they were very good. Although not as good as our favorite restaurant (best crab cakes in Maryland) we will be making this again. For the person that thought they weren't flat enough, you should be able to make them as flat or as round as you like when you shape the cakes. They are not going to flatten more when you cook them. They will also hold together better if you refrigerate the cakes before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I didnt like the way them came out, not flattened out enough. Not sure I would try them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Perfect ~ I followed the recipe as written and they are not only easy to make but delish!! For those who opted to leave out the Old Bay and then leave a lesser rating ... there really is no substitution for Old Bay. If you are going to make crab cakes you really want to include it. I used a whole grain dijon mustard and Mmmmm, Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Delicious and so easy to make! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
these crab cakes are good but i thought the old bay seasoning tasted a bit strong. i served these for a new year's surf & turf dinner (also making the yummy ginger steak from this website). thanks jenna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These crab cakes have quickly become our favorites! They are DELICIOUS! That's how real crab cakes should taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
i added just alittle bit of fresh lemon juice and used the Japenense style bread crumbs. i love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Can you say yummm. My hubby and teenage son asked me to make them again tonight (two days in a row?), well ok. Thank you for the recipe. Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
These were really good! I live nowhere near the coast and haven't had any before but they were great. Come to find out... I didn't have Old Bay so I just used some creole seasoning instead. I also had to add an extra egg so they wouldn't crumble. Thanks for the recipe, I will be using this one for sure again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Tasty, but I had difficulty keeping the cakes together. They tended to crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.J. Upjohn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portola Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States