New England Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Pretty good. I didn't have dijon mustard (my surprise when I just left the grocery store) so I used regular mustard. My husband can't stand mayonnaise so I always substitute with sourcream (works pretty well). With all things considered we thought these crab cakes were rather tasty. Oh, I also broiled them instead of frying. Sprayed my cookie sheet with butter flavored cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
So easy and tasty. I had all the ingredients and made them in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy Cruzado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
They were good. I added some finely diced sweet onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We substituted Townhouse crackers for the breadcrumbs. For our first time making crab cakes they were very good. Although not as good as our favorite restaurant (best crab cakes in Maryland) we will be making this again. For the person that thought they weren't flat enough, you should be able to make them as flat or as round as you like when you shape the cakes. They are not going to flatten more when you cook them. They will also hold together better if you refrigerate the cakes before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I didnt like the way them came out, not flattened out enough. Not sure I would try them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Perfect ~ I followed the recipe as written and they are not only easy to make but delish!! For those who opted to leave out the Old Bay and then leave a lesser rating ... there really is no substitution for Old Bay. If you are going to make crab cakes you really want to include it. I used a whole grain dijon mustard and Mmmmm, Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Delicious and so easy to make! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
these crab cakes are good but i thought the old bay seasoning tasted a bit strong. i served these for a new year's surf & turf dinner (also making the yummy ginger steak from this website). thanks jenna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These crab cakes have quickly become our favorites! They are DELICIOUS! That's how real crab cakes should taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
i added just alittle bit of fresh lemon juice and used the Japenense style bread crumbs. i love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States