New England Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These are wonderful. I did make a few changes. I added diced peppers and onions. I used Italian bread crumbs. I doubled the recipe and added 3 eggs instead of 2. I also added a little more old bay! They were yummy! Made 12 cakes! Hubby said I should have added celery. He puts celery in his when he makes them....I forgot! They are good with celery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I refrigerated mixture for about one hour before forming patties (so they would hold together better) They came out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I was in a panic because I had to come up with a recipe for crab cakes in a very short amount of time, so I was so excited when I saw that I already had everything in my fridge and pantry in this recipe. Super convenient and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
added diced green onions and red bell pepper in the mix. Dipped them into panko bread crumbs to ad crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is a delicious recipe and takes maybe a half hour to prepare, tops. I brushed the cakes with olive oil and broiled them instead of frying. Also refrigerated them for a bit before cooking to ensure they would not crumble when I flipped them over in the oven. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and they came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txvtchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I used this recipe for my first attempt at making crab cakes. I'm from Maryland and have had my fair share of crabs and crab cakes... this recipe is great. It's simple and easy to make, yet delicious. Note: I did not have dijon mustard, so I substituted with honey dijon teriyaki sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very delicious. Especially with a homemade chipotle sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe was VERY easy and QUICK. I served it as an appetizer for a dinner party that I was having. I altered it a little. I added about 1/4 tsp of fresh lemon juice and I broiled the crab cakes instead of frying them. They were just perfect. I served them with a side of chipolte dipping sauce - YUMMY!! Can't wait to make this recipe again!! Everyone just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New York, USA
Living In: Pleasant Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
There awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Pretty good. I didn't have dijon mustard (my surprise when I just left the grocery store) so I used regular mustard. My husband can't stand mayonnaise so I always substitute with sourcream (works pretty well). With all things considered we thought these crab cakes were rather tasty. Oh, I also broiled them instead of frying. Sprayed my cookie sheet with butter flavored cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States