New England Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This is my staple recipe for crab cakes. I live in Maryland but I like this one better than any other Maryland recipes. I think it is the dijon mustard that makes these cakes really stand out - and I actually use a bit more than the recipe calls for. I usually broil these and that works just as well as frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Made these last night and they were without question the best crab cakes I've ever had, hands down! Served for my beau and got rave reviews. I cut back just a little on the Old Bay, made four good sized cakes and broiled them, and were PERFECT! For those who wanted more flavor, try using Italian breadcrumbs. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Made these for Super Bowl Sunday and they went over very well. Tons of compliments. Pretty easy preparation, although I also added some green onion and red bell pepper as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
If you don't like too much of a salty flavor, cut back on the Old Bay and add a little dried lemon peel. I made them into bite size cakes and served with tartar sauce as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I've been looking for this exact flavor for a few years now! This is it! Now I'll be making crab cakes and stuffing mushrooms with this stuff at the slightest excuse! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLASHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
The recipe doesn't stipulate what type of crab meat is best but I learned the hard way. Fresh crab is important and use the white parts only. I added red bell peppers and green onions and it gave it a kick. Be sure not to over cook the cakes too crispy outside leads to too crispy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRocka Delicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Quick, Easy, and Tasty. nough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was definitely a great starter recipe. I had never made crab cakes before - and didn't realize it was so easy. I added a bit of green onion to the recipe, as per a previous reviewer's comments, along with a tiny bit of finely chopped red bell pepper. I also had to add more mayonaise to hold the mixture together, as the first batch crumbled apart when cooking. Overall, it was a great recipe and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This was my first time making crab cakes. They turned out good, but I think they need a little more flavor. I think next time I would add some crumbled crackers or more seasoning. These were ok, but something was definitely missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Personally I thought they were ok. However everybody who ate the crabcakes enjoyed them. If you like the flavor of green onions in your crabcakes these aren't the ones for you. I thought the recipe could have used a dominant flavor like green onions. So maybe I'll try it again more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States