New England Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Delicious! I've made these twice and received rave reviews both times. My husband loves them! The first time I served them with a dill sauce, the second time with chipotle aioli - much better the second time around! Plus, the second time I used 2 eggs instead of 1 and they stayed together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I had left over crab from a family crab pickin' and made these last night. This was the first time I have ever made crab cakes at home and they were FABULOUS! I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't have had better at a restaurant. I served them with a dip on the side made with plain yogurt, lemon juice, horseradish, dill, and a little salt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I tweaked this a little and it ended up being the BEST recipe result I have had! I used 3/4 C bread crumbs (unseasoned wheat bread), 2 tsp Old Bay, then added 1 stalk of celery chopped in small bits, and 1 green onion chopped the same. I used olive oil in the pan to brown these babies after I squished them really well into 6 patties so they didn't fall apart. I made a sauce of lemon juice, plain yogurt, hot sauce and garlic powder for accompanying these awesome cakes. OMG Yummy!!! This is how crab cakes should look and taste!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My first attempt at crab cakes and WOWZER! I am a new crab-fan and this is so great and so easy. A couple of tips I read that really help. 1) If you rinse the crab first, be sure to let it drain WELL before using. 2) Form into a ball first and place this in the frying pan. After it is brown, flip then flatten. These were excellent and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Tasty! Next time Ill follow the direcionts exactly- I left out the mayo and I felt I was missing texture and my cakes were having a hard time sticking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Imitation crab meat is too dry in this recipe.....add chopped green onions, creamed corn, add an extra egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
they were the best--i added some green onion...had them for a special lunch.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Neither my husband nor I enjoyed these. Still looking for a great crab crake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I liked this recipe because it is about the crab and not about adding pretty fillers and such that distract from the crab flavor. I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I recommend refrigerating the pressed crab cakes for an hour before pan frying. The secret to pan frying is to resist the temptation to move the crab cake around after initially set it in the hot skillet. I let the crab cake brown before turning; each cake held together nicely and did not break apart. I held the crab cakes in the oven on low heat until served up with a simple lemon dill sauce on the side. The crab cakes were rich, moist & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States