New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This is a great recipe for when you're craving clam chowder, and don't want to wait. Here in Rhode Island, we have an abundance of clams, so I make this one often, using quahogs that my boys dig up. My one issue with this recipe, as-is, is that you have to make sure that the flour is adequately cooked, or you get that raw-flour taste. In order to do this with the sautee-the-flour-with-the-potatoes method, you run the risk of making the potatoes a bit mushy. If you have a bit more time, make a roux by melting a 1/2 stick of butter and cooking the flour in it for about 5 minutes. Wisk the roux in with the dairy before proceeding with step 4. You'll have a creamy and nicely thickened chowder with no lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This soup is outstanding. I was able to cut a lot of fat from the recipe with the following changes, and no loss of flavor: drain most of the bacon fat, there is still enough in the pan to cook the potato and onion. Use 2 cups of clam broth, and equal parts cream and skim milk until you get your desired thickness. I usually use more skim milk than cream. This may make the soup a little thinner, but I like it that way :) and its much healthier, so you can eat more and not feel guilty! Go ahead, have the 2nd bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Really good recipe. Only reason I didn't give it 5 is I will make a couple of changes next time. I will add celery when cooking the onions & potatoes. Also I will not drain the clams and maybe add some more. I did thicken at the end with a corn starch mixture as we like our chowder thick. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This is probably one of the best clam chowders i have had - if not the best. I always make a double batch as my family loves it just as much as I do. I did make some alterations, however. I found that the recipe called for too many potatoes for my taste, so I used half the amount called for. I also doubled the flour (I like it to be a bit thicker). The recipe doesn't say if we are supposed to use the juice from the canned clams, so I discard the juice from one can and use the other. and the final change that i like the best is that I put a half tsp of dried thyme in before I add the clam juice to the potatoes. My accolades to the cook, a very well done recipe, and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Fouke, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I saved the crumbled bacon and added it to the soup just before serving--this recipe was wonderful. I used 3 cups of half and half and instead of canned clams, used the crab from the foil packets they sell now. This recipe was so well received, everyone went back for second helpings (and I have two finicky eaters.) Another trick I've learned with other soups is to take a bit over half of the potatoes and dry mash them and add them to the soup to help thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This was very easy and quick to make, and really delicious! I didnt' drain the clams, though (no instructions to do so) so the soup got a little thin, and I had to thicken it. Next time, I'll drain them. I did add some of the crumbled bacon back to the soup, and it was very good. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Also great with other varieties of seafood such as oysters, crab meat, and scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was pretty good. I do prefer my chowder much thicker and this turned out more like soup. Will use more flour next time. I need to keep looking for a good brand of canned clams. Tried two so far and neither was very good. Hubby loved this, but agreed it should be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Delicious and comforting, especially on the days when winter swirls about us here. I don't care for the flavor of canned clams as I feel I can taste the tinniness, but we are fortunate enough to be able to buy them freshly frozen, and that to me makes the difference. I live in the hills now, but with a steamy slice of corn bread slathered with honey butter and a ton of clams just winking at me, I'm young again and back on the Cape Cod dunes in the wintertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Was absolutely to die for and fairly easy to make. I enjoyed it even more on the second day! The heavy cream is a must in my opinion! I also recommend more potatoes and clams to make it extra chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Webb-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States