New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Thank you!! it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was very yummy! I read some of the reviews ahead of time, and I really believe that to get the best flavor is to use the half & half and heavy cream. I added some celery and a small amount of chicken broth, but followed eveything else exactly and it came out perfect! Served it in bread bowls and had zero leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I was worried since this is my first time making it but I really liked it and my wife like it a lot also. I'm hard to please when it comes to chowder since I used to live in Rhode Island. Never made it before and I'm happy about how it turned out. My second bowl was the best since I put a bit of tabasco sauce on it. Next time I'll make it a little thicker but good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Great and easy to make! My wife has gotten me cooking and I am one of those people that should not be in a kitchen! Although, I attempted to make this chowder and I was amazed how well it came out! Only thing different I did was add to many potatoes (which I will correct next time) and I add 3 cans of clams instead of 2 (good idea). This is great, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Stauffer
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent. My husband requested this soup but I've never had it myself to know what to expect. He was quite pleased, and so was I. The bacon and parsely as garnish added a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Stauffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Having traveled extensively through New England and living on Long Island, NY, I've had my share of New England Clam Chowder and can honestly say that this came out excellent. I made one minor change, namely adding some thinly sliced celery with the potatoes and onions. I also didn't drain the clams (the recipe didn't specify whether to drain or not, so I won't call this a change) because at first the mixture seemed a little thick. After adding the Half & Half I decided to reduce the liquid by letting it simmer a little longer, which turned out to be an excellent idea. The clam flavor remained while the water evaporated. It didn't do the potatoes much harm either, they stayed quite chunky. Served with some crusty Ciabatta bread, this made for a quick and wonderfully warming winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I liked this recipe. I doubled the liquid (clam juice, half & half & heavy cream) though because it is not a lot of soup. I did however add the bacon back into this and it tasted more bacon"ey" than clam chowder. It was still very good, just not what I expected. Next time I will just not add the bacon back to the soup :) Very easy & quick recipe, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was very good but I still need to "tweek it" before I get the same flavor that my grandmother used to get. It was however very satisfying and only wish I had made a larger amount as I like to have chowders left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
i only used 3 potatoes and added extra half and half. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Pretty good. I will use smaller potatos next time or maybe just 3. Otherwise, the recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States