New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I'm giving it a 3 as is for chowder, maybe a 4 as a base and you can add your own extras, like I did after I finished cooking it. After tasting it I added some onion salt, celery salt, thyme and a dash of savory. I also mashed up some of the potatoes after they softened to thicken the chowder up, it worked great. I did use the clam juice from the cans and I'm glad I did, it helped the taste. I did forget the parsley at the end. I'll make again, using this as a base and add my own seasonings. Might even add another can of clams. Make sure you don't use large potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Not a very flavorful version of clam chowder. I'm sure it can be altered to suit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this for dinner and everyone had seconds. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing! Easy and yummy! I used white beans instead of potatoes, and added extra pepper. Also added 1/4 tsp of thyme and old bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
My whole family loved it. I don't like clams but I actually loved this recipe. It really is a great tasting chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made one small change in my recipe. I added another can of clams and only put a splash of heavy cream in. I then stick blended some of the clams to get some of the thickness naturally than having to add some of the heavy cream. A simple yet excellent recipe that everyone should try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTParis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
A great hearty soup! Definitely add the bacon. Added frozen corn niblets. I call it Long Island Clam Chowder. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was looking for my clam chowder recipe I've had on a card for years but could not find it. This is it, with one exception....add the juice from the canned clams too. Easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norbie-Noo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
we love this clam chowder and everyone that we served it to loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States