New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was an extreme hit and my company gobbled it up! Now I did add some spices: thyme, bay leaf, and 1 small garlic clove. But it was sooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I changed/subbed a few things based on what I had on hand. Skipped bacon, used 2 medium redskin potatoes, 1% milk rather than half and half and only had about 1/4 of an onion. I also only had one can of chopped clams. I par-cooked the potatoes in the microwave and sauteed the onion and potatoes and celery flakes in 2 T of light butter. This was so very good and took 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
just an odd note , I started with this recipe and added the broth o had frozen from making mussels with white wine. Holy Brininess ! That just Upped the flavor from really good to Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Delicious!! Made it quickly and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcalob

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this for my Super Bowl party this year and it turned out great! I think I adjusted the servings to 28 or 30 and proportions were good. I love Clam Chowder and this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious chowder. I used bacon bits in the first step to save the work (: Rather than add the flour to potatoes, to prevent mushiness I whisked the flour into the half and half...(I actually used evaporated milk since we had no half and half) I chopped celery and added it to potatoes and onion which I sauteed in olive oil. Instead of heavy cream I used 1% milk and butter so I doubled the flour to 2T. Clam juice is a must. I tried on my second batch to use chicken broth as a substitute since I had no juice. It wasn't the same even though I used 3 cans of clams. Also pour the juice from the canned clams right in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I thought this recipe was just OK. More of a creamy potato soup with some clams added. It's good for a fast, filling meal if that's what you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I doubled this recipe but I used a whole 5 pound bag of potatoes. I adapted this recipe to the crockpot. I just cubed the raw potatoes and covered them with the clam juice and the four cans of minced clams (also with the juice that was in the can with the clams) and one can of organic chicken broth. That cooked on low all day until I came home from work and finished it. I did a quick mash with an old fashioned potato mashed for a chunky soup, then added in the bacon, sauteed onion (along with fresh garlic and chopped fresh carrots.) I didn't have any cream on hand, I used one can of fat free evaporated milk instead. After tasting it, I added a little red pepper flake. This was good but I wish it was more clammy. I was quite impressed I could make this in the crockpot and now that I know I can, I don't know what's stopping me from doing that from now on. Next time, I'll make this the same way only I'll add even more minced clams and clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
For clam chowder this gets 3 stars. I followed this recipe exactly as is - it's a very good potato soup, but there isn't much clam chowder to it at all. My son and husband both liked it, but both were disappointed when they came to the table and there was no clam chowder as promised. I'm going to keep looking for a decent clam chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Great recipe and really easy to make! We only used two potatoes, four was WAY too much, and added some extra flour to thicken it up. Next time I'll just add in the optional heavy cream. And for some extra salt, make a little extra bacon and crumble it into the soup, it's delicious, especially in a bread bowl! Big hit with all my roommates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlochelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States