New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I thought this was excellent, it was my first time making clam chowder. I did change a few things such as I just used the juices from the canned clams, also I doubled the flour, which in the end made it way too thick, stew like so I just added in more half and half until I got it back to my desired thickness, I also doubled the bacon and stired it into the soup, added 1/2 tsp of thyme and paparika. lots of salt & pepper for my taste buds!! was excellent I am about to take it over to my dads to see if it passes the test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
A bit too much potato. It's OK, but I've had much better. I've made it exactly as directed, but definitely needs more clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Have made this several times and found that more flour coating for the potatoes will help with the thickening of the chowder, or mix a little cornstarch afterward until desired consistancy. I also put in 1 tbl. of red wine vinegar and it gave it that final touch. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Excellent! To me there is never a reason to buy canned clam chowder. This is easy and delicious. It is absolutely fine to use whole milk and a dash of half-and-half. It will be thinner, but that's what my family calls "homemade chowda". This version is the more authentic "restaurant chowda". Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was pretty good. I do prefer my chowder much thicker and this turned out more like soup. Will use more flour next time. I need to keep looking for a good brand of canned clams. Tried two so far and neither was very good. Hubby loved this, but agreed it should be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Though very easy to make, the flavor was overwhelmingly of potato and bacon. I could barely taste clam. I thought it tasted boring. I ended up throwing in some canned corn niblets and sliced crimini mushrooms and turned it into some other sort of chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband loved this soup. It was really easy/quick to make, so I love it too ;). The only change I made was to use a little extra bacon and add it directly to the soup instead of uing it for the top. Fast, Easy & Good = 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Love it with the bacon.I added carrots and celery to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very good, very simple New England Clam Chowder recipe. Has a great flavor. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States