New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Great recipe. I read the reviews and holding back on a potatoe was a great tip. Also, I like my chowder to be thick so I also addes some flour and cornstarch. You can't knock a recipe to make it how you like it. Great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was so good! Simple, yet satisfying. My family loved it. They tease me, that I'm not the best soup-maker, but they really liked this one. The only thing I would do different, is add some more clam juice--I personally like alot of clam flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Oh boy. Wasted 2 cans of great clams on this. There are better recipes, even on this website, that have a much better flavor, texture, method and result. AND they take no longer, no more effort. Really. Chowder is easy. Chowder is fast-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made this without the bacon; it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I used olive oil instead of bacon fat and evaporated milk instead of the half and half to have that rich creamy taste. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truffled

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I saved the crumbled bacon and added it to the soup just before serving--this recipe was wonderful. I used 3 cups of half and half and instead of canned clams, used the crab from the foil packets they sell now. This recipe was so well received, everyone went back for second helpings (and I have two finicky eaters.) Another trick I've learned with other soups is to take a bit over half of the potatoes and dry mash them and add them to the soup to help thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This makes a great clam chowder..but cut back a little on the potatos..dice them pretty small. I follwed a reviewers advice and made a roux instead of flouring the potatos, this way no lumps! I love bacon..(who doesn't?) so I put cook more than the recipe calls for. One more thing...for a kick...I add about 5 drops of tabasco sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancejn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Great recipe. Easy to follow and simple to make, but with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I was very excited to prepare this for my family last night. I have to say it was the worst thing I ever made. I followed the directions exactly and the soup was very thick. Needless to say it was not a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I thought this was excellent, it was my first time making clam chowder. I did change a few things such as I just used the juices from the canned clams, also I doubled the flour, which in the end made it way too thick, stew like so I just added in more half and half until I got it back to my desired thickness, I also doubled the bacon and stired it into the soup, added 1/2 tsp of thyme and paparika. lots of salt & pepper for my taste buds!! was excellent I am about to take it over to my dads to see if it passes the test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States