New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent-easy to prepare and great to eat. I would make it again without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The soup itself is excellent. Even though I gave it five stars, I did have one problem with the recipe, but nothing that can't be fixed. I think that there are too many potatoes. If you perhaps cut the potatoe ratio by half and only use two potatoes it would be better. Also, in addition cutting the potatoe ratio add some celery/carrots/peppers to give it more color and different textures. Overall, the soup was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My wife and I prepared this delicious soup in our cabin in the woods of Nantucket. Here are a few pointers we'd love to share with you: Start by cooking the diced ham alone on high for 5 minutes. Add a random splash of canola oil after the ham starts to burn to the bottom of the pot. You'll get a real agreeable smoked flavor that way. Next, boil the onions, clam juice, and potatoes for no less than 20 minutes. I also added 3 tablespoons of flour and strictly heavy creme to give it a consistent consistency that will not soon be forgotten. DELISH! PS, although this slight spin is eternally scrumptious, I must ask, did anyone else's soup taste like cigarettes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Excellent! I've always loved clam chowder and was a bit unsure about making my own. This recipe is delicious. I even made chicken corn chowder by modifying the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very good, very easy, very comforting. I did add a carrot and a rib of celery. My hunny likes veggies. We had this for Valentine's dinner. I used a 10 oz can of baby clams and a 6 oz can of diced clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This turned out great. I added some thyme and red pepper flakes. Served in my crock pot with some cream sherry on the side. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Delicious! My husband loved this...nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Super delicious and easy.My 12yr old son made it himself with some suggestions from me. We doubled the flour and added a tsp salt & minced garlic clove when sauteing the onions. We used 1 1/2 cups fat free half & half at the end. We also added 3/4 cup (canned or frozen)sweet corn b/c my son likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Best chowder I have ever made. I'll probably use this recipe for as long as I make NE clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Easy recipe that is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States