New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very Delicous! Using the heavy whipping cream a must!!! It puts this receipe over the top. To thicken it up a bit, try adding a little instant mashed potatoes!! I did that and reduced the amount of whole potatoes. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was a test recipe for our monthly gourmet club. We just had this with our neighbors to test it out and we all agreed that this recipe is the best New England Clam Chowder we have ever had. No modifications were needed. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lougagne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
My family are big chowder hounds, but they did not like this one. It did not have the creaminess or thickness we were looking for, and the clam juice made it taste too fishy. Also, way too many potatoes. Seemed more like a potato chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
For a quick version of a decent clam chowder - this fits the bill. I always increase the number of clams in my recipes - and this soup was gone with no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Delicious! More flour needed if you like it thicker. We make our own steamed clams with all the fixins and use the broth from that cook as the base. I also added extra clams, celery and chopped up the leftover chourico and linguica from the cook and added it right in. Hubby said it was good enough to enter into a contest. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent! This is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Great, easy to follow recipe! Thank you. Other than making a larger quantity, I really didn't change much. Next time I might use more milk and less potatoes. But it's great just the way it is. My wife loved it and the 5 star is her rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipie is wonderful, its so easy and everyone loved it, I will be making this often. Traci
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Simple and delicious. Doubled the flour. Didn't have enough clam juice, substituted chicken broth. Used fat free condensed milk for the half and half, and a bit of half and half for the full cream. Mixed in dried parsley for color. Some of us preferred it without the bacon, but all of us enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
A very nice recipe indeed! We like a little "kick" so I add appx 1/4 tsp. dried red pepper flakes, and 1/4 tsp. minced garlic and saute the onions, potatoes, drained clams (I add the minced clam juice back after I liberally dust the browned potatoes.) I use fat-free half and half for all the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerryAntics

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States