New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This chowder had a delicious flavor and we totally loved it. But when I make again, I will add more clams and clam juice, it didn't really have much of the clam flavor that you would expect in a clam chowder. Also, I thought there were too many potatoes, next time I will probably only use 2 potatoes. It was more like a good potato soup with a few clams thrown in. Since other reviewers said it was too thin, I used 2 Tbsp. flour, but still needed to add some instant potato flakes to thicken it up. Having said all that, it really was a delicious soup, just not clammy enough for my taste, but that may just be personal preference. I will defiitely make again though, will just add more clams next time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
1st time chowder brewer. My husband & I drove up and down the coast of MA & RI (we're Native Southern Californians). Had some great chowder, but this recipe topped them all. Used large Costco cans of clams, drained reserving the juice, rinsed to get all the sand out of it. Also thickened much more with flour and cornstarch. Next time will add celery & mash half of the potatoes as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Really yummy. One of the best I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I added a little more clam juice. But an excellent recipe! I added shrimp and crab too with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
All i have to say is , "yum"! Soooooo good! Definitely be sure to add the cream, makes it so rich and delicious. The only thing i did different was i added a splash of sherry to the clam juice while the potatoes were simmering. And, instead of the flour i did a mix of cornstarch and water and added it right at the end. Wonderful recipe for a chilly day =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annmariet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great recipe! Double the recipe if you want any leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I did some variations as well, hence four stars, but I like to play with different flavors than recipes call for so this is a mix of some of the other reviews. I boiled my potatoes to get them softer (Small cubes for about 10min) Drained them and made the rest of the chowder in the pot as called for. I also used Dill and Thyme and Garlic Salt. I added corn (about half a can) to add some different texture and flavor. The bacon is an excellent addition to this recipe. After doing Step 4 I kept the temperature on low so the potatoes would not keep softening. To top it off i coated the top of the chowder while still in the pot with Parmesan shredded cheese, very tasty!!! I did add about 2 tbsp of cornstarch after cooking about 25min to thicken the soup to our preference. Really great with French Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kllennon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I've used this a few times now and I follow the recipe with one exception I do a roux for thickening and if it's still not quite thick enough I add a little cornstarch at the very end...Being from New England it's the best recipe I've found and we like ours thick!! I also use this as a base for my corn chowder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
excellent recipe. Having lived in the Boston area for almost my entire life, married to a commercial fisherman, the only thing I do differently is instead of using flour to thicken it, I add instant potatoes after chowder is done. But that is just a matter of taste. Chowder is delicious as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was a great recipe. I ommited the bacon, and used whole milk instead of half and half (only because I forgot to buy it). I also increased the amount of flour to make it thicker. My whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States