New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Great recipe and really easy to make! We only used two potatoes, four was WAY too much, and added some extra flour to thicken it up. Next time I'll just add in the optional heavy cream. And for some extra salt, make a little extra bacon and crumble it into the soup, it's delicious, especially in a bread bowl! Big hit with all my roommates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlochelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
great recipe, easy and ready to eat!! I didn't use heavy cream and it can out a wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Yummmmm. Quick and easy. I used 3 cups clam juice leftover from steaming 50 clams. Used leftover bacon fat. Omitted flour accidentally but kept it that way because I like thin soups and chowder. Added 2 diced carrotts. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My goodness is all that needs to be said. My aunt and i get together just about once a month a cook something new together and this recipe got a 5 star rating from the family!!!!!!Added a small amount of thicken at the end, and extra clams because my husband loves clams, but the recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe was really good but I did made some changes according to the reviews listed. I doubled the flour and cooked it with a stick of butter (I am sure you can use less if you want, but this was just perfect for me) before adding it to the potatoes. I also used the juice from the can of clams (it was in clam juice not water or oil like some cans come in) instead of buying a the jar of clam juice, and I added thyme and oregano along with the parsley. My boyfriend is a very picky eater, but he cleaned the pot with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Living in the North East I've tasted some very good NE Clam Chowder. This is as good as any. Simple to make too. I did, however, add 3 stalks/ribs of chopped celery with the potato and onion mixture and an extra can of clams. Another thing to remember is that it is always better the second or third day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is the first time I've reviewed a recipe from this site although I have a recipe box full of good dishes. I have to say though, this was so good and easy to make! Most recipes have bacon and my husband doesn't eat bacon, he loved this chowder and it will be a much repeated meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This recipe is simple and easy to make. My wife and daughter are lactose intolerant so i used lactaid milk instead of half and half and very little cream. also we bought clams in clam juice so we used the juice from that instead of buying more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Easy and excellent! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcoller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Fantastic! Added a bit more flour for thickening and added some chopped celery. I made 16 serving and froze for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States