New England Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
A bit too much potato. It's OK, but I've had much better. I've made it exactly as directed, but definitely needs more clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Have made this several times and found that more flour coating for the potatoes will help with the thickening of the chowder, or mix a little cornstarch afterward until desired consistancy. I also put in 1 tbl. of red wine vinegar and it gave it that final touch. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Excellent! To me there is never a reason to buy canned clam chowder. This is easy and delicious. It is absolutely fine to use whole milk and a dash of half-and-half. It will be thinner, but that's what my family calls "homemade chowda". This version is the more authentic "restaurant chowda". Both are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was pretty good. I do prefer my chowder much thicker and this turned out more like soup. Will use more flour next time. I need to keep looking for a good brand of canned clams. Tried two so far and neither was very good. Hubby loved this, but agreed it should be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Though very easy to make, the flavor was overwhelmingly of potato and bacon. I could barely taste clam. I thought it tasted boring. I ended up throwing in some canned corn niblets and sliced crimini mushrooms and turned it into some other sort of chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
My husband loved this soup. It was really easy/quick to make, so I love it too ;). The only change I made was to use a little extra bacon and add it directly to the soup instead of uing it for the top. Fast, Easy & Good = 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Love it with the bacon.I added carrots and celery to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very good, very simple New England Clam Chowder recipe. Has a great flavor. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Delicious and comforting, especially on the days when winter swirls about us here. I don't care for the flavor of canned clams as I feel I can taste the tinniness, but we are fortunate enough to be able to buy them freshly frozen, and that to me makes the difference. I live in the hills now, but with a steamy slice of corn bread slathered with honey butter and a ton of clams just winking at me, I'm young again and back on the Cape Cod dunes in the wintertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States