New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My first attempt at making New England Clam chowder left empty bowls and happy tummys behind. I did make some changes to this, but for the most part it was quite a big hit. I'm quite a fan of heat. Added jalepeno sauce and a bit of sriracha to the bacon and onions. I also covered the potatoes while they cooked, only used 3/4 cups of water and 1/2 cup of vegetable broth. Used 3 cans of clams and poured one can if clam juice Ito the soup. I also used one tbsp of flour to thicken the soup After the cream was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
By far, the best clam chowder ever. I make a few alterations to suit our tastes... I add a few more slices of bacon(cuz who doesn't like more bacon?), more clams & I add a slurry of cornstarch & water to thicken it slightly. Soooooooo goooooooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe. I loved it! And that was a real big deal for me because I have never liked clam chowder. I would not eat a clam. My husband loves clam chowder. So I looked for a recipe so that I could make it for him. I don't really like to buy it in the can. I followed the recipe to the letter. It came out perfectly! It was so delicious! I am now a clam chowder lover. Yup! Wonderful! Try it for yourself. You will love it. Thank you Debbie2. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We loved this and I took some tips from a friend. I made a roux and added just a little to thicken- didn't need much. I also used light cream instead of half and half, and 3 cans of clams, and clam juice instead of water. The best part of dinner was when my 7-year old son, who had been begging for Clam chowder for months, exclaimed, in a distressed voice, "There are CLAMS in clam chowder?! What?!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I really liked this, except that I want more clam flavor. I had used about 50% more clams than the recipe called for and 100% of the juice. I started out with half the juice, as the recipe called for, and it tasted more like potato soup, so I added the rest of the juice, which helped a lot, but left the chowder not as thick as I would like. I should have probably mixed corn starch in with the juice and then used heavy cream instead of half and half, but 2 cups instead of 3. I think that would have given me what I wanted. The other option would be to add in some clam base. I think this is a great base recipe and will use it as a guide the next time I make this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I made a few changes to take it to 5 stars. I doubled the bacon and added 3 diced celery ribs. I added about 1/4 cup fresh minced parsley and 2 garlic cloves. I drained the clam juice into a measuring cup and had 2 cups of liquid. I substituted this for the amount of water in the recipe. I used lactose free half and half to the amount of 4 cups. (I added 3 and held back 1 cup) I used the butter to make a roux with flour (about 4 tablespoons)in a saute' pan. I added that extra cup of cream and let it cook about 30 seconds. I blended this into the soup and it thickened up perfectly. I also added a few shakes of red wine vinegar. We really did enjoy the soup and it was not hard to put together at all. Will definitely be making this again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
this is my go to recipe! I follow it pretty much EXACTLY except that i drain the clams and use ALL of the juice. I also sauteed the bacon... then added the onion... then added 1/4 cup flour so that it would thicken the soup. then I added the clam juice and boiled the potatoes till they were tender. IT WAS PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I omitted the water, used the clam juice and used 4 cups half and half and boiled the potatoes for 15 mins before adding to bacon and onion. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonDoggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
A good start, but not quite there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamiethelibrarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
turned out very well. the kids ate it all (rare for them). I really liked this version. I added two filets of thin white fish (cubed) to it to make it more of a seafood chowder. I really like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States