New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup is great! The whole family loved it. I had to thicken it up by taking out a small amount of liquid & whisking in some flour . Then added this " slurry" back in the soup. The result was Perfection!! I will be making this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I did what Texas2step added to the original recipe and I pretty much nailed it. AND, I too am a New England Clam Chowder snob. It was lovely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great base recipe! The only changes I made was using chicken broth instead of water and instead of 3 cups of half and half I used 2 and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also added 3 cans of chopped clams including the juice. Before adding in the cream I tossed a couple spoonfuls of flour into the potatoes and broth after the potatoes were tender and whisked it together to thicken the soup a bit. It came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe but changed and added a few things. First I used veggie broth instead of water. I like extra bacon so I used 6 slices. I also threw in 1.5 cups of finely chopped celery. A healthy sprinkle of dried Thyme, Parsley, and a bay leaf. I also minced some fresh garlic (2 cloves) and added that when cooking the onion. Other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was delightful. My boyfriend ate three bowls of it and said it was a keeper for our dinner rotation. PS shopper tip: I used chopped canned clams because they sell them cheap at Costo. I just used my food processor to make them minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I view many clam chowder recipes. including this one. My grandmother ran rooming homes in Portland, Maine and clam chowder was one of her listed meals. While I have tried many parts of clam chowder ingredients I have some favorites. Salt pork, fat removed and fried to well done cannot be substituted. Clam broth should be the only liquid for cooking. I use large amounts of onion but cooked to blend well. The chowder must have LOTS of clams and potatoes. While I love cream, I lighten with regular milk and add dehydrated potatoes to thicken a little. I am still trying to find the "secret" ingredient that won the California clam chowder cook off using a seafood enhancement as her winner. In any event, I just made a batch and thinking about what I will do with the next. Tom Brackett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
awesome reccipe. The only thing I did different is to make the onion into liquid for the people who like the flavor but not the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
i grew up on new england food and seafood was a mainstay at or house on the coast of the atlantic.this is almost exactly the same recipe my mother used,except she usd whole shucked clams.we would go dig up a pail[10qt]of clams fresh from the clam beds,wash them in the ocean surf to maintain the fresh flavors then shuck them into a collander over a bowl to collect all the juice cutting back on th amount of water needed,also she brought out all the flavors by using evapor-ated milk,served with big round common crackers.i'm 82 and still like my chowders the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe for easy yummy chowder. I used flour to thicken the soup and made sure to dice the potatoes small so they cooked faster. Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I too used clam juice in place of the water. I also doubled the butter, this is not a dish for dieters. It was amazing, the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States