New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This works out to be more of a clam soup with a cream base. This doesn't have the New England Chowdah' thickness that I/we were looking for but still very tasty and would maybe make a couple changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the first time making chowder and we really enjoyed this recipe. I parboiled the potatoes before I peeled and cubed. They were perfect.Otherwise I prepared exactly as the recipe.It is company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I used small creamer potatoes and boiled them for the 15 minutes. Added the butter and boiled for 2 minutes. Added the clam juice and clams and boiled 3 minutes. Then added the half and half and let sit on medium -low for 10 minutes. This gave time for potatoes to cook and get the clam taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose St Louis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe last winter, it was so good my family has proclaimed it our new family favorite on winter nights served with garlic sourdough bread. Here's to warm comfort food for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I've been making this for a few years now. I did make some modifications. I use 2 linguica instead of bacon, 2 cups half-and-half and 1/2 cup heavy cream, 8oz cream cheese, clam juice in place of water. Then sometimes I use this and then make it into a seafood chowder with scallops, bay shrimp, canned crab meat, and mussels. The seafood chowder is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shena Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I wouldn't really call it hearty. This was my second time with this recipe but this time I changed it up a bit with celery, cornstarch, clam juice instead of water and extra clams and bacon. I also used all of the juice from the 3 16oz cans of clams. This is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Fabulous! I added chopped celery, including the leafy part and some fresh thyme. Also, next time I will cut back on the potatoes a bit. The four cups seemed a bit much. Overall, fantastic tasting chowder. The broth has perfect consistency. It's creamy without being too heavy. I added a bit of extra bacon as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I am actually a bit amazed by the negative reviews because I followed the directions to the T and my family and myself are stuffed and pleased! This was my 1st time ever making clam chowder and I was hoping it stood up to my mom's from when I was little and I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseanne Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Followed this recipe to the "T". Lots of comments about the potatoes not being done, but I found they were done perfectly (chopped to 1cm cubes). I did boil the potatoes in fish stock instead of just plain water. The potatoes absorbed much of the water and so constant stirring was required for the last few minutes. Everything else was exactly as the recipe indicated. I'll definitely be making this one again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States