New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We liked this, but most of my family was in agreement - it doesn't need the butter, it does need celery, and it needs to be thickened. As a base, this is a good recipe, but this isn't a recipe that I really think will be memorable to us. I'll probably use it as a base recipe again, but will definitely change some things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Awesome recipe! I tweeked it a bit 6 slices of bacon, some white wine (Sutter Home Chardonnay) and thickened with corn starch mixed up in the clam juice. Major kudo from all who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe and I would give it five stars. I did modify it just a little by adding a cup of chicken broth to the potatoes while they were cooking and added a full quart of half and half along with two tablespoons of corn starch to thicken it just a little. My husband and five of my grand children gave their approval. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Woodward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was amazing. I had some fresh corn on the cob so I added that as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was good, although I prefer something without half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I can say I love the Clam Chowder from another Allrecipes.com user who uses red wine vinegar! OMG it just makes the meal. I even throw in a tablespoon to the Campbells Chunky or Progresso canned soup just to get that tastel Some how that tiny little bit of vinegar makes a huge difference. Never throw out the clam juice! Use it in your chowder. It makes the flavor that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I was so disappointed :( Definitely have to make a roux to thicken it. Added a little worcestershire sauce like someone else recommended. Wish I had boiled the potatoes in clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is my first time making clam chowder.....and the kids' loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjjquan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've made this recipe exactly as written and LOVED it. I will add more clams as a personal preference next time, although it was fine as is. Thank you Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
If you want a "watery" New England Clam Chowder, this is the recipe for you. It is not creamy at all. It is a watery soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States