New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just made this soup and I give it 5 stars for being very tasty along with a simple amount of ingredients. I did make the roux separate with butter so it has a buttery flavor. Can't wait to go eat some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Antale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very Watery, I suggest following the most helpful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I am not crazy about clam chowder, but my husband loves it. Made it for him and he went back for seconds and finished the left overs the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Thin...needs less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made the soup using the suggested clam juice instead of water, but was still disappointed it is pretty bland. I will look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This works out to be more of a clam soup with a cream base. This doesn't have the New England Chowdah' thickness that I/we were looking for but still very tasty and would maybe make a couple changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the first time making chowder and we really enjoyed this recipe. I parboiled the potatoes before I peeled and cubed. They were perfect.Otherwise I prepared exactly as the recipe.It is company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I used small creamer potatoes and boiled them for the 15 minutes. Added the butter and boiled for 2 minutes. Added the clam juice and clams and boiled 3 minutes. Then added the half and half and let sit on medium -low for 10 minutes. This gave time for potatoes to cook and get the clam taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose St Louis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe last winter, it was so good my family has proclaimed it our new family favorite on winter nights served with garlic sourdough bread. Here's to warm comfort food for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I've been making this for a few years now. I did make some modifications. I use 2 linguica instead of bacon, 2 cups half-and-half and 1/2 cup heavy cream, 8oz cream cheese, clam juice in place of water. Then sometimes I use this and then make it into a seafood chowder with scallops, bay shrimp, canned crab meat, and mussels. The seafood chowder is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shena Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States