New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I used 6 slices of bacon (you can never have too much bacon, and my slices were thin) and added celery (I had it on hand and figured it wouldn't hurt). I may have also used closer to 3 cups of potatoes instead of 4 (I rarely measure). Other than that, I stuck to the recipe, and was very pleased with the results. I served this in a bread bowl with a salad on the side, and my husband and I went back for seconds. Definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe with one exception. It needs more clams and possibly more potato. Everyone loved it but asked where the clams were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was a very good, quick, weeknight soup. If I were making it for company or a potluck, I would want a slightly richer clam chowder. But still, this is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Clam chowder in my area (San Francisco Bay Area) is a highly regarded and diligently researched food that has about as many different "great" recipes as it has simple (& intricate) variations. That said, without getting into a "add a touch of dry white wine instead of a measure of your water" or "put in less pepper and let your guests decide what they want in their individual servings" argument, this is an excellent started recipe. My brother makes the very best crab cioppino I have even encountered; one, because it is all crab, and two, because it is full of garlic and cheap red wine (Carlo Rossi Burgundy-or as mom called it, "Rosco Carli") and is served with fresh, local sourdough bread with our family recipe for garlic bread (garlic, lots of butter, fresh oregano, a tad of fresh basil, some balsamic vinegar and sprinkles of Parmesan cheese and baked at 400 degrees just until the top is brown-outer crust crisp and inner soft and lovely!!!)... I digress... we know good local seafood specialties and love them: this is a really good started chowder recipe with all the potential to add to if you want to make it your own. Like barbecue sauce and spaghetti sauce, any good cook likes to add their own special "unknowns" to a recipe to get their personal 'scent' on it. A great quote, "Barbequists put secret ingredients in their sauce for the same reason dogs on trees" says it all. You want to say "THIS IS MINE!" Love it or "pee" on it. It will be good! What could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaitiura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Granada, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is an awesome recipe, however, I did change it a bit. I added a couple extra slices of bacon, couple stalks of finely diced celery and used clam juice instead of the water. The potatoes had to be cooked longer. With my changes, I would give this recipe 5 stars. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I used more bacon and clams than the recipe originally called for and I lessened the onions by 1/2 cup and it turned out wonderfully! My boyfriend is a HUGE clam chowder fan and he pretty much demolished the entire pot in a night! Great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSinclair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
to all complaining about about new england clam chowder being too watery it is supposed to be soupy. I grew up there and we always ate this chowder soupy not in sourdough bowls or thick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We liked this, but most of my family was in agreement - it doesn't need the butter, it does need celery, and it needs to be thickened. As a base, this is a good recipe, but this isn't a recipe that I really think will be memorable to us. I'll probably use it as a base recipe again, but will definitely change some things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Awesome recipe! I tweeked it a bit 6 slices of bacon, some white wine (Sutter Home Chardonnay) and thickened with corn starch mixed up in the clam juice. Major kudo from all who tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe and I would give it five stars. I did modify it just a little by adding a cup of chicken broth to the potatoes while they were cooking and added a full quart of half and half along with two tablespoons of corn starch to thicken it just a little. My husband and five of my grand children gave their approval. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Woodward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States