New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I made this on Sunday for my Super Bowl party and I followed the advice of some other reviewers and cooked the potatoes in clam juice instead of water and used 1 1/4 cup of whipping cream instead of all half and half. Everyone who had some at my party loved it!! I'm so excited; the recipe is so easy to make, I'm sure I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was easy to make and was every bit as good as I hoped. My family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this soup last night and it was fantastic! It is definitely not a very thick chowder but delicious none the less. The only difference I made was using clam juice instead of water and added more minced clams just because of personal preference. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We all loved this. I used turkey bacon, used only about 1/2 cp of onion, 2 cups of water, 2 cloves of garlic, 3 cans of clams, and I forgot to add the butter. I used all the liquid from the clams and added about a tablespoon of flour to the clam juice to help it thicken up. The kids ate two bowls and made me promise to make it again! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Illinois, USA
Living In: Odell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was a good base recipe. I used chicken broth in place of the water. Since most canned clams are salty, I eliminated the salt. Added finely chopped celery with the onion. If you want to thicken the broth, be sure to do it BEFORE adding the drained clams. Once the clams are added the soup should be gently heated - definitely don't let the soup boil or heat too long or the clams become chewy. Added minced fresh parsley with the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I love this recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
A meal in a bowl! Yum! I tweaked a few things only because I didn't have all the ingredients. I cooked the onions and Bacon Bits (Imitation) in the butter. Used a steamer bag to cook the potatoe dices for 10 minutes while the onions were cooking. I did NOT add any water but used all the clam juice instead. I have a Jersey cow so just used 3 cups of whole milk with the cream still in it, instead of using 1/2 and 1/2. Oh, and I left the peels on the potatoes. It was a huge success and there is no more for leftovers. :( Served with fried cornbread topped with homemade butter and honey on it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My family loved this. I omitted the bacon. Instead I used a little bit of butter to cook the onions in. I used clam juice instead of water. I used 5 cups of potatoes. I also added three tablespoons of flour towards the end. Also used 4 cans of clams. It was delicious!! Very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is the best clam chowder recipe I have made. I did follow some of the suggestions and used the clam juice instead of water. I also added a little flour (mixed with the broth) at the end of the recipe to thicken it up just a little. The flavor was amazing and the consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I made it for the first time on Christmas Eve and it was a huge hit. I modified it slightly by adding chopped celery (4 stalks when doubling the recipe), 1 medium shallot, sea salt, fresh ground peppercorns, with a sprinkle of adobo and fresh parsley. I utilized shucked whole clams and chopped clams found at Costco. Everyone remarked the clams were really tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States