New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My family loved this. I omitted the bacon. Instead I used a little bit of butter to cook the onions in. I used clam juice instead of water. I used 5 cups of potatoes. I also added three tablespoons of flour towards the end. Also used 4 cans of clams. It was delicious!! Very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is the best clam chowder recipe I have made. I did follow some of the suggestions and used the clam juice instead of water. I also added a little flour (mixed with the broth) at the end of the recipe to thicken it up just a little. The flavor was amazing and the consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I made it for the first time on Christmas Eve and it was a huge hit. I modified it slightly by adding chopped celery (4 stalks when doubling the recipe), 1 medium shallot, sea salt, fresh ground peppercorns, with a sprinkle of adobo and fresh parsley. I utilized shucked whole clams and chopped clams found at Costco. Everyone remarked the clams were really tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
perfect! added 3 cans of clams (6.5 oz each) and all the juice from them, 2 cups of half n half then 1 cup of cream for thickness and mixed up a little roux to help thicken as well. was still really soupy but the flavor was awesome. i only wish i had a sourdough bowl to eat it out of. finally some leftovers i can look forward to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Added 2 more cans of clam but other than that, it is perfect! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I am cooking for my family using the Feingold diet, and was able to do so with with the basic ingredients this recipe called for, and it was AWESOME! My husband said it was the best he ever had and we lived on Long Island, NY for most of our lives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ishiluv
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made it exactly as the instructions said and I found it to be a tad too... gloopy. I haven't tried it since, but I'll probably try one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ishiluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manvel, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
The process is good, and the taste is spot on to what I've tasted in New England. I just cooked the potatoes a little longer than directed. Also use all of the clam juice as it wont come out tasting clammy enough. I like my soups a little thinner, but if you want a thicker texture, I would sift in maybe two or three tablespoons of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
The flavor is spot on, but the problem is the consistency for sure. It was very watery, without signs of improving until i added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. THEN, it was perfectly chunky and creamy. I cooked the potatoes with clam juice instead of water, and covered the pot for quicker cooking. I also used 2 cups half and half and 1 cup heavy cream. I used ALL the clam juice. Chopped fresh cilantro for a little color and flavor. A BIG TIME hit at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhythmixoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I used 6 slices of bacon (you can never have too much bacon, and my slices were thin) and added celery (I had it on hand and figured it wouldn't hurt). I may have also used closer to 3 cups of potatoes instead of 4 (I rarely measure). Other than that, I stuck to the recipe, and was very pleased with the results. I served this in a bread bowl with a salad on the side, and my husband and I went back for seconds. Definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States