New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Not very thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My husband says the best clam chowder he has ever ate. This is a keeper. I used clam juice instead of water and used heavy cream instead of half and half. It was awesome. Everything else was perfect. I always use heavy cream when making a chowder or cream soup. No calorie counting here, but love the richness it addes to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made a rue as suggested and also mashed some of the potatoes that I cooked separately. This soup is awesome ...I cant wait till lunchtime so I can eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was great. Yes, it seemed a bit watery. If you let the pot sit on low for 10 minutes or so and stir, the potatoes will thicken it at bit. I will follow the advise from others next time and substitute some of the water for clam juice, and while stirring the bacon with onions add some flour to make a roux. Also, I may do it with turkey bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Perfect clam chowder recipe for gluten free!. I have used this recipe for years, my whole family loves it. Even the picky 6 year old. I cook the potatoes to my liking, and use 2% milk, because that is what i normally have in the fridge. If I want it a little thicker then I add some corn starch, my sister has celiac disease. I also like to add carrots and celery with the onion to make it a little heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I took the advice of 1 reviewer and boiled my potatoes covered...be warned, you will need to add more water! I had halved this recipe, which took the water down to 3/4 cup. I had to add water twice. I did add about a teaspoon of flour to the clam juice which I think helped with the texture. Hubby said the clams lacked flavor, so I'm thinking next time I should add the clams about 2 minutes before the potatoes are done to impart extra flavor. Otherwise, loved it! Only my second time eating clam chowder ever and this was far better than my first experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was very good! I used 6 cups of clam broth and no water. I also sprinkled in a little Old Bay Seasoning as one reviewer suggested. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I've been wanting to try a clam chowder for so long and I decided to give this recipe a try. Making it, I was reminded of the cream soups I usually made - saute veggies, add a roux, add cream, etc. Maybe it was the fact that I only used 2 cans of whole baby clams and 2% milk (I accidentally wrecked the 3 cups of half-and-half I'd set aside for this recipe so had to substitute) that made the final product just "meh". I added some carrots, celery and a can of peaches and cream corn (which I usually love in the canned versions of clam chowder), and it was still missing something - it was still a bit bland. Pureed some of the clams and potatoes...still not right. Finally, I added a packet of chicken stock and had my "AHA" moment! Next time, I'll try using all clam juice and NOT mess up the cream! Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie C. Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Awesome! I used two cups of heavy cream and one cup of light cream because the store didn't have half and half. It turned out great and even the picky eating kids loved it. Of course I didn't tell them what was in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pirmasens, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
good , taste like potato soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenise Stilsing

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States